American Lager Starter Beer Making Kit

American Lager Starter Beer Making Kit is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 365.
  • y_2020, m_12, d_3, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_94, tr_271
  • loc_en_US, sid_40-20941-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrbeer
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 5.96ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Free Shipping on All Beer Kits

  • Best beer Kit for Beginners - Our beer kits are designed for the first-time brewer in mind Step-by-step instructions, simple ingredients, and easy to use brewing equipment.
  • Only Takes 30 Minutes of Your Time to Brew - Using our hopped Malt extract you can brew up a batch of beer in less than 30 minutes.
  • Includes the Best Ingredients to Get Started - Brewing with Mr. Beer’s Hopped Malt Extracts are perfect for any brewer. It cuts down on time, reduces the risk of contamination, and helps create a more consistent beer every time.
  • Comes with Everything You Need - Our beer Kit comes with everything you need to brew your first batch of beer. No need for additional large pots, strainers, or brewing equipment. All you need is a Mr. Beer Starter Kit, bottles, water, and common kitchen items to get started.
  • Satisfaction - Mr. Beer is all about simple, and efficient home brewing. If for any reason you are unhappy with your experience contact us so we can make it right for you.
Special Price $31.96 Regular Price $39.95
SKU
40-20941-00

Our American Lager Starter Beer Making Kit comes with everything that is needed to get started brewing. This kit provides aspiring brewers with our patented brewing equipment and high-quality ingredients that simplify the Homebrewing process. Our patented brewing system includes a compact lightweight fermenter that is modeled after the design of professional brewing equipment. We also include a can of brewing extract - a concentrated form of all-natural malted barley and hops - produced in a state-of-the-art facility by Australia's oldest family-owned brewery as well as no-rinse Cleanser and unique carbonation drops to simplify the sanitization and carbonation process. This kit is designed to brew 2-Gallons of great tasting beer. 


Brewing with Mr. Beer is a relatively simple process. Below is a short instructional overview of the brewing process so you can feel confident knowing you can brew this. 

Short Overview of the Brewing Process




Simple Brewing Process


With 16 different Refills and over 100 different Recipes, we have plenty of options available to keep the beer flowing. 


What you get


Where here to help with all your brewing needs. Just give us a call, chat with us, or submit a ticket. We have brewmasters on staff to help you with your brewing journey. 



STEP 1: Sanitizing

Cleaning is one of the most important steps in brewing. It kills microscopic bacteria, wild yeast, and molds that may cause off-flavors in your beer. Make certain to clean all equipment that comes in contact with your beer by following the directions below:

1. Fill clean keg with warm water to line mark 1 on the back, then add ½ pack (about 1 tablespoon) of No-Rinse Cleanser and stir until dissolved. Once dissolved, the solution is ready to use. Save the remaining ½ of No-Rinse Cleanser because you will need it for bottling.

2. Screw-on the lid and swirl the keg so that the cleaning solution makes contact with the entire interior of the keg, including the underside of the lid. Note that the ventilation notches under the lid may leak solution. Allow to sit for at least 2 minutes and swirl again.

3. To clean the spigot, open it fully and allow the liquid to flow for 5 seconds and then close.

4. Pour the rest of the solution from the keg into a large bowl. Place your spoon/whisk, can opener and measuring cup into the bowl to keep them cleaned throughout the brewing process. Leave them immersed for at least 2 minutes in cleaning solution prior to using.

5. After all, surfaces have been thoroughly cleaned, do not rinse or dry the keg or utensils. Return lid to the top of the keg, proceed immediately to brewing.


STEP 2: BREWING

Brewing beer is the process of combining a starch source (in this case, a malt brewing extract) with yeast. Once combined, the yeast eats the sugars in the malt, producing alcohol and carbon dioxide (CO2). This process is called fermentation.

1. Remove the yeast packet from under the lid of the can of brewing extract, then remove the label from the can. Place the unopened can in hot tap water

2. Using the clean measuring cup, pour 4 cups of water into your 4-quart or larger pot. Add your booster packs slowly while stirring the cool water until dissolved. Bring water to a boil, and then remove the pot from heat.

3. Open the can of brewing extract from the bottom of the can and pour it into the pot. Stir until thoroughly mixed. This mixture is the wort.

4. Fill the keg with cold water to line mark 1 on the back. The water must be cold (ideally from the refrigerator) with a temperature of 40-55°F/4-12°C. For the best results, we recommend using bottled spring water or filtered tap water. If using any other fermenter this would be approximately 1 gallon of water.

5. Pour the wort into the keg and then bring the volume of the keg up to line mark 2 by adding more cold water. Mix vigorously with the plastic spoon/ whisk. Be careful to not scratch the inside of the keg, which could create small spaces for bacteria to grow. (If you have a different fermenter top it off with cold water to the 8.5-liter mark).

6. Sprinkle the entire yeast packet into the keg and then screw on the lid. Do not stir.

7. Allow your fermenter to sit for 10-14 days.

Store the fermenter in a cool, dark place between 68-78°F/20-26°C for the yeast to work properly. The ideal temperature range is 70-72°F / 21-22°C. After a few days, the foam and activity will subside and your batch will appear to be dormant. However, the yeast is still at work, slowly finishing the fermentation process.


STEP 3: Bottling & Carbonating

After 10 days, taste a small sample to determine if the beer is fully fermented and ready to bottle. If it tastes like flat beer, it is ready. If it’s sweet, then it’s not ready. Let it ferment for 4 more days (14 total). At this point, it is time to bottle. Do not let it sit in the fermenter for longer than 24 days total.

1. When your beer is ready to bottle, fill a 1-gallon container with warm water, then add the remaining ½ pack of the No-Rinse Cleanser and stir until dissolved. Once dissolved, it is ready to use.

2. Distribute the cleaning solution equally among the bottles. Screw-on caps (or cover with a metal cap if using glass bottles) and shake bottles vigorously. Allow to sit 10 minutes, then shake the bottles again. Remove caps and empty all cleaning solution into a large bowl. Use this solution to clean any other equipment you may be used for bottling. Do not rinse.

3. Add 2 Carbonation Drops to each 740-mL bottle. For 1-liter bottles, add 2 ½ drops; for ½-liter bottles add 1 drop. Alternatively, you can add table sugar using this table as a guide

4. Holding the bottle at an angle, fill each bottle to about 2 inches from the bottle’s top.

5. Place caps on bottles, hand tighten, and gently turn the bottle over to check the bottle’s seal. It is not necessary to shake them.

6. Store the bottles upright and out of direct sunlight in a location with a consistent temperature between 70°-76°F or 21°-24°C. Allow sitting for a minimum of 14 days. If the temperature is cooler than suggested it may take an additional week to reach full carbonation. 


Tip from our Brewmasters

After the primary carbonation has taken place your beer is ready to drink. We recommend putting 1 bottle in the refrigerator at first for 48 hrs. After 48hrs. give it a try and if it is up to your liking put the rest of your beer in the fridge. If it does not taste quite right, leave the bottles out at room temp for another week or so. Keep following this method until your brew tastes just how you like it. 

This process is called conditioning and during this time the yeast left in your beer can help clean up any off-flavors. Almost everything gets a little better with time and so will your beer.

Rated 5 out of 5 by jimthom from Simply wonderfull I have a long history of wine and white liquor makers in my family. I wanted to get into something of my own. So I had came across Mr. Beer and have been hooked ever since. This is the kit that got me started brewing my own Beer. Its really easy and works just as discribed. Mr Beer makers it easy and fun to watch your Beer come together at the comfort of your home. The best part is theres multi. choices of flavors to choose from to be able to see what you like. They have ALL been great for me.
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by TedK from Excellent beer for summer. Years ago Mr. Beer had a refill called Cowboy Golden Lager. Unfortunately, it was discontinued. However, American Lager is very close in taste and smoothness. It's light and fresh, just perfect on a hot summer's day after mowing the yard. Better yet, enjoy it while mowing the yard.
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by jim from Superb!! Superb equipment if you like small amounts of beer like myself this is ideal for that purpose,!! so easy to use and the good thing is you can build a nice selection of beers etc without being overpowered by mass!!! yep superb!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dawnnicole from The beer of beers I RECeIVED THIS AS A CHRISTMAS PRESENT 2016 Christmas, and I tell you it was the best present I got that year , even beat the jewelry I got. I had a get together and had great reviews from a lot of my guest, and two couples were even looking into purchasing themselves. I'm definitely a fan and a forever customer!
Date published: 2017-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by BrewDadT from Great brew I brewed this lager and the porter at the same time. I then mixed the two at bottling and came up wit a Black and Tan that is fantastic! The mix was about 65% lager and 45% porter which created an awesome balance and complexity between the two. I did bottle a few of each recipe and this lager is a really good staple. Would brew it again... Happy brewing!
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by BryBrewer from Great intro to brewing This is a great kit to get started with brewing and I recommend it for anyone into beer and DIY. Pros: price - I'm somewhat surprised by the quality and amount of beer I can brew at home for so little cost compared to buying a case. ease of use - you have to clean and have patience during brewing and conditioning, but otherwise the process is straightforward with easy to follow instructions. resulting beer is great - as I said above, the beer is top notch. Con: you need patience, which can be hard for the first beer . You also need bottles. This is a little disappointing if you aren't prepared for that reality. But on the good side, it allows you to choose your bottles!
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bolgertr from Great start! I received this and an order or the 740ml PET bottles for Christmas. I couldn't be happier. The directions were easy to follow and I was brewing my own beer in a matter of minutes. Thank you Mr.Beer!
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by JBrew from Easy to use I bought this kit on clearance from target. I have never brewed beer before and as much I like beer, I hadn't thought to brew my own. I was extremely impressed by how easy Mr. Beer makes brewing. The instructions were easy to follow, the product was well built, and the ingredients were simple to work with. The kit is surprisingly well made. I have no doubt that I can brew batch after batch of this beer and the kit will keep working. I haven't tried the beer yet, but I am eagerly awaiting the finished product in the next few weeks. The only con I have for the product is the price of refills, but considering how easy they make brewing your own batch it is at least forgivable. Overall a great product that is easy and fun to use.
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stu1 from First Time Brewer I received this kit as a Christmas present. I have brewed and drank my first case of beer from it. All I can say is AMAZING!!!!! I have ordered more supplies to make more. This kit is perfect for someone that is new to the craft. I am extremely excited to brew more beers and experiment a little bit.Eventually I plan on upgrading to a larger kit but for now ( while I am still learning ) This one is perfect for me. Thank you Mr. Beer for giving me a new hobby to enjoy. Sorry I have no pics at this time to show you but in the future Im sure that I will!
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by RonF from Easy to use I bought this on clearance at Target, and I'm glad I did. It's nice to have a second keg for brewing a batch when another batch is fermenting.
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by Davz13 from Great brew Pours golden with off-white head; nice retention. Aroma of pome fruits. Tastes of butter, apple, caramel candies.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sourcerer from Great Outcome - Terrific Flavor Followed the simple directions and created a great tasting beer... looking forward to making the next batch.
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by samnzeus from getting it I also enjoyed this brew the condition doesn't take forever like some other brews great for beginners
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by brewmastermike from Great standard lager Great standard lager for those who don't want anything too fancy. Great introductory brew recipe.
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by General Silver from Great results from my first attempt at home brew! This was part of the deluxe kit I got for Father's Day although it didn't come with the booster. Since it was going to be my first ever attempt to home brew I didn't set my expectations high, honestly if it came out like budweiser I was going to consider it a successful first attempt. Well I read and reread and re-reread the instructions and then brewed my first batch of beer. Six weeks later the results far exceeded my expectations. It had a nice dark amber color, pleasant smell and a good flavor. My only complaint would be that the beer had no body to it which you would expect with something that color. I see now that the refill kits include the booster packs which should add that missing body. In the end I was happy enough with the results that I ordered a refill kit with boosters and a smooth LME soft pack. This went from a beer I thought would be a good place to start and learn to a beer I'm looking forward to brewing again.
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by Patvm15 from Easy to brew I've brewed before but I would still consider myself a rookie. I've used other products where it takes hours to complete and tons of mess. I'd recommend Mr. BEER to anyone who wants to start out brewing their own beer. It's easy and tastes good. Only problem is the waiting for it to ferment and then turn into beer. Oh well, all the more reason to brew more beer in the meantime.
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by TSOTG from What a way to start an obsession My wife got this for me for Christmas and I have always wanted to dabble in brewing my own beer. It's very easy to use and fun watching the different stages of the fermentation/conditioning process. The standard light lager that comes with the kit is not bad. I'm looking forward to trying out the different flavors. I don't recommend this for someone who just likes to drink beer without really caring much for the whole process. Nor do I recommend this for the impatient. However, if you truly do enjoy beer, I highly recommend this.
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clcowboy from Great way to start home brewing!! If you are new to the home brewing world and want an easy way to get started, then this kit is your answer. This kit explains every step nicely, shows illustrations to assist, and has videos to guide you along the way. It was very easy to get my first batch of beer going and can't wait to try out one of the many new refills to choose from for my next batch.
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lssluss39 from Excellent Kit!! I couldn't wait to receive this kit in the mail, this is a fantastic product!! I love the brown keg it's the perfect size of 2 gallons and it is so lightweight.The brewing extract can't be beat it produces the best flavor ever.I really loved how this kit came with an easy to follow instructional DVD it was so easy .This is so easy to clean and I'm so happy I orderd this kit it is wonderful and it produces the best beer I have ever tasted.I'm a very happy customer and Mr.Beer is an excellent company with excellent products!!
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from Diablo IPA Basic Kit Review Everything that was supposed to be in the kit was there, and as always, everything was nice and easy to use; all spelled out. My Diablo IPA is currently fermenting now and I cannot wait to ultimately taste it and see how it turned out! Mr. Beer rocks! The only reason I didn't give this review five stars is because I want to reserve that for undoubtedly "5-star" rare-occurrence, and so if my Diablo IPA turns out amazing (which, from reviews, it sounds like it very well could), then this will become a five-star review.
Date published: 2020-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by gr62063 from my second batch I'm a new brewer, so I am trying basic recipes at first. This was my second batch. Results of the first batch were disappointing, but that was completed following the standard instructions included with the kit, rather than the consensus guidelines of 3 weeks/ferment and at least 4 weeks carbonize/condition. I only gave this American Lager 18 days of ferment as I had still not read all the blogs, but figured my first batch suffered from too short a ferment. Using the Pale LME, no booster, I conditioned this batch for 4 weeks. Carbonization seemed too weak,there was no head, but the taste was good. Gave the remaining bottles another 2 weeks and much improved. I am now a 3 week ferment and at LEAST 6 week conditioning brewer. Ready for something more complex.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by HondaGoldwingGL1100 from Very Economical The fermenter quality could use some work. Seams in the plastic may not have been sealed and or the plastic itself has thin spots which can create pin holes. The tap could be replaced with a higher quality tap like in the Cooper beer kits. If you end up with a properly made fermenter, you are off to the races.
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from What an awesome way to brew beer!!!! Made my first batch using a kit of Diablo from Mr. Beer. Was a bit leery, as I had brewed hundreds of gallons of beer using the old fashioned method (had to quit because lifting 5 gallon carboys got to my back too much). Followed the directions to a T, and sat back and waited. Tasted the wort after two weeks - it tasted good, so I bottled it. Check the beer at three weeks and decided it was still too young. Tried it again today after 34 days and BINGO it was fantastic!!! What an awesome way to brew beer!!!!
Date published: 2020-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by chemikalguy from Excellent Place to Start Homebrewing I picked up this kit to use as a quick, all in one home brewing solution to get started. Having never done any home brewing before, I didn't know what equipment I'd need, ingredients, etc.This includes essentially everything you need, as well as easy to follow instructions. The included kit actually made a pretty nice finished product. I want to try some of the other refill kits now. The one and only complaint that I had with the kit is with the included amber plastic bottles. They are 750mL, which equates to over 25 ounces. That's way to big for me to drink in one sitting, and the beer got a bit flat before I finished it. I would have preferred smaller bottles, like the 500mL bottles I've seen for sale on the site. Those are much more in line with the size I drink in one sitting.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wally the Whale from Good way to learn about brewing: subpar brew The process of making the beer is a good way to learn about the brewing process. Unfortunately the end result is a very subpar beer. Thus as a teaching tool it is excellent but as a way to produce quality or cost-effective beer it is a disappointment
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by BF16 from Great gift idea I bought this kit as a gift for my boyfriend this month. The process is lengthy, but that is expected when brewing your own beer. We made this together, and it was a very exciting experiment. My only advice is to make sure to thoroughly follow the directions to ensure that no mistakes are made. Overall, this is a wonderful product. I would purchase this for a friend in the future. I would also recommend this product for anyone interested in trying something new. This is a very rewarding process!
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Can not believe this was such a hit!! Bought this as a Father's Day gift for my Father-in-law, i had no idea it would be such a huge success. My Father and Brother-in-law brewed this and brought some samples on vacation. The beer was good and they enjoyed the process and product so much they will be brewing more. My in-laws are very book minded people so when I purchased this I was thinking I was going to miss to mark. I could not have been more wrong; they live the science aspect of the brewing and definitely enjoyed the beer.
Date published: 2020-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by William69 from Great tasting beer Have made this several times and it's always came out good.nothing fancy just a good after work beer. 3 weeks in lbk and 3 week carb/condition then to the fridge comes out awesome. Smooths out the long you age itif you can wait.
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beerotter from Great starter I got the basic kit as a Christmas gift last year and finally had the time to start brewing last month. The first batch turned out really well even for just a classic light beer! The only problems that I encountered were a bit of sludge at the bottom (don't know if that is to be expected or not) and the full amount recommended in the recipe didn't fill all 12 bottles. But overall it was a damned good experience for a first timer and I cannot wait to start my next batch, Octoberfest Lager!
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by ronc from Great company stands behind their products! I had a problem with some of my bottles not sealing. Mr Beer concluded I must have got a bad batch of bottles, They sent me a new case of bottles and the beer refill kit I had used at no cost to me!
Date published: 2018-06-08
  • y_2020, m_12, d_3, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_94, tr_271
  • loc_en_US, sid_40-20941-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrbeer
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3.8ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3.19ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;
We found other products you might like!