Diablo IPA Complete Craft Refill

Diablo IPA Complete Craft Refill is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 94.
  • y_2021, m_9, d_20, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_77
  • loc_en_US, sid_90-11975-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrbeer
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 56.35ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • Our Refills come with everything that is needed to brew your next batch of great tasting beer. 
  • All of our Refills are done brewing within 10-14 days and designed for brewing 2-gallon batches. 
  • Mr. Beer's brewing extract is formulated and produced by master brewers at Coopers Brewery in Australia using the highest quality and all-natural barley and hops. 
  • Every Mr. Beer Refill comes with Coopers proprietary brewing yeast that performs well in a wide range of temperatures. 
  • With this Refill, you will get our Diablo IPA HME, 1 bag of Carbonation Drops, 1 packet of No-Rinse Cleanser, and 1 packet of brewing yeast
  • If you enjoy drinking AleSmith Double Red IPA, Surly Furious, or Sierra Nevada Celebration Ale then this is the Refill for you!
$23.76 Regular Price $27.95
SKU
90-11975-00
Customize Diablo IPA Complete Craft Refill

* Required Fields

Your Customization
Diablo IPA Craft Refill
Diablo IPA Complete Craft Refill

In stock

$23.76

Summary

    STEP 1: Sanitizing

    Cleaning is one of the most important steps in brewing. It kills microscopic bacteria, wild yeast, and molds that may cause off-flavors in your beer. Make certain to clean all equipment that comes in contact with your beer by following the directions below:

    1. Fill clean keg with warm water to line mark 1 on the back, then add ½ pack (about 1 tablespoon) of No-Rinse Cleanser and stir until dissolved. Once dissolved, the solution is ready to use. Save the remaining ½ of No-Rinse Cleanser because you will need it for bottling.

    2. Screw-on lid and swirl the keg so that the cleaning solution makes contact with the entire interior of the keg, including the underside of the lid. Note that the ventilation notches under the lid may leak solution. Allow to sit for at least 2 minutes and swirl again.

    3. To clean the spigot, open it fully and allow the liquid to flow for 5 seconds and then close.

    4. Pour the rest of the solution from the keg into a large bowl. Place your spoon/whisk, can opener and measuring cup into the bowl to keep them cleaned throughout the brewing process. Leave them immersed for at least 2 minutes in cleaning solution prior to using.

    5. After all, surfaces have been thoroughly cleaned, do not rinse or dry the keg or utensils. Return lid to the top of the keg, proceed immediately to brewing.


    STEP 2: BREWING

    Brewing beer is the process of combining a starch source (in this case, a malt brewing extract) with yeast. Once combined, the yeast eats the sugars in the malt, producing alcohol and carbon dioxide (CO2). This process is called fermentation.

    1. Remove the yeast packet from under the lid of the can of brewing extract, then remove the label from the can. Place the unopened can in hot tap water

    2. Using the clean measuring cup, pour 4 cups of water into your 4-quart or larger pot. Bring water to a boil, and then remove the pot from heat.

    3. Open the can of brewing extract from the bottom of the can and pour it into the pot. Stir until thoroughly mixed. This mixture is the wort.

    4. Fill the keg with cold water to line mark 1 on the back. The water must be cold (ideally from the refrigerator) with a temperature of 40-55°F/4-12°C. For the best results, we recommend using bottled spring water or filtered tap water. If using any other fermenter this would be approximately 1 gallon of water.

    5. Pour the wort into the keg and then bring the volume of the keg up to line mark 2 by adding more cold water. Mix vigorously with the plastic spoon/ whisk. Be careful to not scratch the inside of the keg, which could create small spaces for bacteria to grow. (If you have a different fermenter top it off with cold water to the 8.5-liter mark).

    6. Sprinkle the entire yeast packet into the keg and then screw on the lid. Do not stir.

    7. Allow your fermenter to sit for 10-14 days.

    Store the fermenter in a cool, dark place between 68-78°F/20-26°C for the yeast to work properly. The ideal temperature range is 70-72°F / 21-22°C. After a few days, the foam and activity will subside and your batch will appear to be dormant. However, the yeast is still at work, slowly finishing the fermentation process.


    STEP 3: Bottling & Carbonating

    After 10 days, taste a small sample to determine if the beer is fully fermented and ready to bottle. If it tastes like flat beer, it is ready. If it’s sweet, then it’s not ready. Let it ferment for 4 more days (14 total). At this point, it is time to bottle. Do not let it sit in the fermenter for longer than 24 days total.

    1. When your beer is ready to bottle, fill a 1-gallon container with warm water, then add the remaining ½ pack of the No-Rinse Cleanser and stir until dissolved. Once dissolved, it is ready to use.

    2. Distribute the cleaning solution equally among the bottles. Screw-on caps (or cover with a metal cap if using glass bottles) and shake bottles vigorously. Allow to sit 10 minutes, then shake the bottles again. Remove caps and empty all cleaning solution into a large bowl. Use this solution to clean any other equipment you may be used for bottling. Do not rinse.

    3. Add 2 Carbonation Drops to each 740-mL bottle. For 1-liter bottles, add 2 ½ drops; for ½-liter bottles add 1 drop. Alternatively, you can add table sugar using this table as a guide

    4. Holding the bottle at an angle, fill each bottle to about 2 inches from the bottle’s top.

    5. Place caps on bottles, hand tighten, and gently turn the bottle over to check the bottle’s seal. It is not necessary to shake them.

    6. Store the bottles upright and out of direct sunlight in a location with a consistent temperature between 70°-76°F or 21°-24°C. Allow sitting for a minimum of 14 days. If the temperature is cooler than suggested it may take an additional week to reach full carbonation. 


    Tip from our Brewmasters

    After the primary carbonation has taken place your beer is ready to drink. We recommend putting 1 bottle in the refrigerator at first for 48 hrs. After 48hrs. give it a try and if it is up to your liking put the rest of your beer in the fridge. If it does not taste quite right, leave the bottles out at room temp for another week or so. Keep following this method until your brew tastes just how you like it. 

    This process is called conditioning and during this time the yeast left in your beer can help clean up any off-flavors. Almost everything gets a little better with time and so will your beer.

    Rated 4 out of 5 by EZRadio from A good standard craft extract by Mr Beer As I sit enjoying my last bottle of Diablo IPA I figure I would write my thoughts on this beer. First of all it was easy to make and made a good beer as the Mr Beer kits go. My beer spent 3 weeks in the LBK and another 4 weeks carbonating and conditioning before I started to drink them. Between the first one I drank and the last there was a total of 8 weeks of conditioning at about 68 deg F. Interesting to me that the flavor did not change very much between the first ant last bottle. The first one was had a little cider taste as expected from a young beer but that quickly dissipated with a week or two more of conditioning. The flavor of this beer, to me, is more of a bitter red than an IPA. But like a food scientist that I work with tells me, there are so many beers and wines because there are that many plus many more individual preferences. I can not say that this is my favorite beer from Mr Beer but it is not a bad one either. I can appreciate it and I can see why others have reviewed this so highly. I definitely recommend this for anyone wanting to give it a try. Pretty bullet proof and easy method of brewing. This will give you a good enjoyable beer when it is done.
    Date published: 2017-05-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by mt50 from Good Base for Experimenting First time I used this awhile back I thought it was ok, nothing special. I tried again, but this time I dry-hopped 2 oz. Mosaic hops and 2 oz. Citra hops. I have to say the result was as great, good an IPA as what you can get at a craft brewery. I plan to experiment with other hop varieties in the future. Try it!
    Date published: 2018-11-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by atcsat64 from Easy and good! Although the color is darker than a traditional IPA, the flavor is spot on! My family and friends loved it and it was gone way too soon. Very easy right out of the can, I didn't add anything. I use corn sugar for bottling. Bold and hoppy that tickles the throat with malty background to balance it. Head retention was a little low but it held carbonation well. I reccomend letting it ferment AND bottle condition a few days longer than instructions, don't rush it!
    Date published: 2016-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Slingrland from Excellent Brew! This is an excellent brew! I've had people ask if they could buy it from me. Be sure to taste it before you bottle. Mine took 2 1/2 weeks in the LBK before it was ready. Also let it condition for at least 3 weeks and lager for 2 weeks. You won't be disappointed!
    Date published: 2016-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Ed4Beer from Delicious ! I love IPA's for the hops and bitterness. This is one I'll reorder. Oddly though, the color was quite dark much darker than the color on the can. So I wouldn't call this a "pale" but a "dark" beer?
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by plantman kyle from Excellent IPA I have brewed this recipe three times. A very tasty recipe on it's own. The second time I added a half ounce of Cascade hops, kicked it up a notch. This time I added a full ounce of Centennial hops, WOW!! Rivals (beats, in my opinion) available craft/microbrew offerings. If you love hoppy beers, this is for you. Don't be afraid to experiment with added hops. Each batch gets better, and better, and better...
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Malty Mike from Gratifying Tasty and effective. Wish I could brew enough to keep up with my consumtion.
    Date published: 2017-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by BH in NC from Wonderful IPA I brewed my Diablo with some extra Citra hops and 2 packs of booster. I boiled .5oz of the hops for 15 minutes and dry hopped after 6 days with the other .5oz. The results were nothing short of amazing. It came out with a beautiful dark red color and extremely hoppy flavor and aroma - just like a good IPA should. It would easily hold its own with any $8/pint IPA you'd get at a brew pub.
    Date published: 2021-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by slym2none from The Diablo makes one helluva IPA! This was my very first IPA I ever brewed, and it came out fantastic! I added an LME Softpak and some FF7C's hops to make what I called One Helluva IPA. It was delicious enough that I went through them quickly. Luckily, I gave one to a buddy that held onto it for a few weeks and he shared it with me. It was better at 5 weeks than it was at 2 - something to remember if I make it again!
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by qwqw from AWESOME IPA Got this as my second brew. it has a nice bold taste and is all hops. you do have to wait the full two weeks for it to condition though. we got a little impatient and cracked a few three days early and they were good but they were still a little malty and the head didnt last to long but after another few days they were great they had a great head and hafve a nice dark color to them
    Date published: 2016-02-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by Starfeel from Bitter, No Head This beer came with my LBK kit (Christmas gift). I was somewhat disappointed. Followed the directions exactly using the Mr Beer carbonation drops. Opened/drank the first bottle today. There was little to no head. (minus 1 star). Flavor was very bitter. If you really like bitter beer, this is for you. But, not for me. (minus second star)
    Date published: 2018-03-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Duligan from Good flavored brew The description said It was Fiercely Hoppy, It Did have a nice hoppy finish, But didn't think it was as hoppy as the description said, But, still was a good IPA, and was able to give some away...........Must have done something right........LOL!! Considering Brewing it again.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by natron232000 from Started off Sour but after I conditioned... I brewed this with 3/4 lb of DME and Warrior hops as the bittering hop (60 min) and cascade as the aroma (15 min). My first taste test was horrible. Way to bitter and it had a sour taste. I almost threw out the whole batch but I decided to let it sit in the fridge for a bit. A week later the taste improved immensly. Now the bittering is that of an IPA like Harpoon and the cascade is coming thru. The sour aftertaste is completely gone. I am going to let it sit for another week.
    Date published: 2016-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Grim101 from Awesome first brew I received this refill and kit as a birthday gift to start my brewing addiction off... What a way to start! The instructions are easy to follow and the taste is way better than I had expected for what other people call a "simple" home brew. I added a booster pack and the ABV is around 6.5%. I've only just bottled it but the pre-bottling taster was delicious. I can not wait to see how it matures during carbonation and experimenting with all of the other refills and modifications.
    Date published: 2017-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Skotty from 2nd time better than the 1st ! My Bro gave me a Diablo IPA starter kit about 6 months ago for my first ever attempt at home brewing. That first brew had a few issues, but the amazing Customer Service at Mr Beer responded quickly and helped me understand things better. A few of PET bottles turned out drinkable, but I was disappointed. I hung in there and tried a couple other recipes that turned out much better. Ready to try the Diablo IPA again, I made a couple small modifications to the procedure and recipe. This brew was dedicated to my Bro, with specially created bottle labels. He smoked a delicous salmon for dinner last night and I "revealed" his beer to him, along with a hand made 6 pack carrier. IT WAS PERFECT! Great IPA flavor with a nice balance of smooth hops and a beautiful amber color (my 1st attempt turned out so dark, you would've thought it to be a stout and had a very heavy harsh taste). I will be doing this one again with the modifications that I made to enjoy it as "Diablo Mike IPA" over and over again. Thanks to the friendly folks at Mr Beer that helped me be able to succeed and bring about a special and fun way to home brew someone a memorable gift.
    Date published: 2018-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by John Wells from Rich, flavorful, and hoppy! I have brewed three batches of Diablo and they are party favorites. Neighbors continue to ask for more. Easy to make.
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by elkabong from Good beer but not really an IPA I brewed this beer over two months ago and am just now enjoying it. It was worth the wait. I had it in the fermenter the usual 3 weeks before bottling. I used the Booster packet also. The it spent 2 weeks in the bottle at cellar temperature. After 2 more weeks in the fridge, I tried a bottle. It was quite unspectacular. I had read other reviews saying this beer needs additional bottle time for the flavor to come out. Those reviews were right on. After 2 more weeks in the fridge, this beer developed some complexity and smoothness that makes it a very easy - drinking beer. That said, I don't consider this to be much of an IPA. There was very little hoppy bitterness to it. I see why several reviewers who said they don't like IPAs enjoyed this. Still, I will brew this again as the result is a great-tasting craft beer.
    Date published: 2018-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by propane mike from JUST BREWED THE EASE OF BREWING I RATE IT GREAT,,,, HIGHER ON THE PRICE ..BUT WELL WORTH
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Mikeschulz from If you like Bitter My wife bought me MRB kit for Christmas and it came with Diablo. I'm a malt guy and cringed on this beer. As I am writing this is my first home brew and it turned out nice if you like IPA. Bitter on the end which I think I will do a little research to take the bite off the end. Hop heads will enjoy
    Date published: 2016-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Jaime Verde from El Diablo -- Aye caramba! OK, this is premature, since my brew is still in the carbonation stage, but the pre-bottling sample tasted great -- rich and bitter. I love the ease of the process and the clarity of the instructions. I would have like reassurance that 2 carbonation drops is sufficient for 1 liter bottles, (package notes 1 for 1/2 liter and 2 for 759 ml), but it seemed reasonable to go with 2, so all is good -- or will be when it ripens.
    Date published: 2020-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Duligan76 from Good IPA The first time I made this, was good. I served it at a party, Must have been food......some people took it home, I drank it, and didn't find all that hoppy.......But, didn't condition it as long as I should have either. This time Maby, I'll wait at least 3 week's to a month before I even take it out of the fermenter and leave sit in bottles for two to three week's.....Maybe it will be hoppier
    Date published: 2016-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by JulesSPok from Excellent flavor, so easy to make Extremely easy to brew, with easy to follow instructions. Just add water! No seriously it is that easy - the only down side is you may feel a little detached from the chemistry side of the brewing process as there isn't a longing mashing in stage to this kit. The resulting IPA has a excellent flavor though, not overly hopped, light mouth feel and very drinkable.
    Date published: 2017-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Jimi from Surprised me--Good stuff Two weeks in the Mr. Beer Keg, Four weeks in the bottle (I used pint mason jars instead of the kit bottles). Kept in the dark always until I placed in fridge. Very good stuff. Not at all like the over powering Grapefruit taste of craft IPA's. More like a Scottish Ale in taste and color in my opinion. I cannot say enough good things about this product.
    Date published: 2017-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Leaky from Nice Darker Beer but not Heavy Brewed this up with great ease. Tasted great but it does have a bitter after taste so if you do not like bitter you may want to try another. It is dark in color like a root beer but has a light taste to it not heavy like a Guiness. I would rate it at about a 3 1/2 but only for personal tastes because I believe it is a great beer for bitter lovers.
    Date published: 2016-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Neil from Look no further I've been brewing on and off for 35 years. Never in that time have I come across a home brewed beer kit that not only tastes like beer, but has started to trump some of my British beer purchases such as Black sheep. It's becoming my go to beer of choice. I don't know why so much home-brew tastes like swill, but this tastes like an award winner.
    Date published: 2017-09-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by jtkirk86 from A strong IPA This beer is turning out nicely, it is good and bitter as is which I prefer in an IPA, we fermented it 2 weeks and then bottled it. We have done one taste test and it was pretty good, looking forward to another week of conditioning and I think it will be even better. The instructions are very straight forward and easy to follow.
    Date published: 2016-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Brew crew from Excellent IPA, sharp hops and a strong finish! Bought this craft refill and brewed over the spring months, it is an excellent IPA that did not disappoint! The hops are sharp and crisp and with a traditional IPA head and strong tasting finish. More balanced and smooth than Sierra Nevada Torpedo IPA, the Diablo IPA will be part of my standard refill order from now on!
    Date published: 2016-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by FF342 from Excellent I got this beer kit for Christmas i started my diablo ipa after Christmas very happy very happy with it I put a couple of beers in the fridge yesterday tried one today tasted is excellent for my first time when I pour it into glass I have no foam in it is that good thing or bad thing What can I do For me second batch
    Date published: 2019-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Thrilliam from Solid IPA I fermented for 5 weeks and bottled at 3, it turned out really well. I wish it would've been a little hoppier, but it tastes like a standard tasty IPA. This was the first brew that I used table sugar instead of the carbo drops to carbonate, and it was the best carbonation level and head I've brewed so far.
    Date published: 2017-07-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by papa finn from Stellar Beer I have made two batches so far and I ordered 4 refills when Mr. Beer ran (you guys) ran a special sale (love them sales) I just brewed a Sticky Wicket batch and had the hops and chocolate hops left over . I am going to all them to a Diablo along wit an LME and see what I will get ...wish me luck..........
    Date published: 2016-04-25
    • y_2021, m_9, d_20, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_77
    • loc_en_US, sid_90-11975-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_mrbeer
    • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
    • CLOUD, getReviews, 5.28ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
    • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
    • CLOUD, getContent, 33.94ms
    • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
    • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;