Horse's Ass American Pale Ale

Horse's Ass American Pale Ale is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 43.
  • y_2020, m_10, d_20, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_90-15084-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrbeer
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 8.69ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

You won’t be the “butt” of any jokes when it comes to this stallion of a brew. Frosty and smooth with a hint of hops, this ale is all rounded out with a kick of honey. This tasty beer will have you in the winner’s circle every time you brew it!

$17.95
SKU
90-15084-00
Customize Horse's Ass American Pale Ale

* Required Fields

Your Customization
Horse's Ass American Pale Ale
Horse's Ass American Pale Ale

In stock

$17.95

Summary

    What You Get

    1 Classic American Light Brewing Extract (HME)

    1 Packet of Dry Brewing Yeast (Under the Lid of the Brewing Extract)

    1 Packet of Cascade Pellet Hops (1oz packet) 

    1 Hop Sack

    1 Packet of No-Rinse Cleanser


    You Provide

    1 Cup Honey


    For Fans Of

    Odell Brewing Losse Leaf

    Highland Brewing Company Lost Cove Pale Ale


    Brew Specs

    Flavor: Balanced

    Original Gravity: 1.041

    Final Gravity: 1.008

    ABV: 4.3%

    SRM: (Color): 2

    IBU: (Bitterness): 11


    STEP 1: Sanitizing

    Cleaning is one of the most important steps in brewing. It kills microscopic bacteria, wild yeast, and molds that may cause off-flavors in your beer. Make certain to clean all equipment that comes in contact with your beer by following the directions below:

    1. Fill clean keg with warm water to line mark 1 on the back, then add ½ pack (about 1 tablespoon) of No-Rinse Cleanser and stir until dissolved. Once dissolved, the solution is ready to use. Save the remaining ½ of No-Rinse Cleanser because you will need it for bottling.

    2. Screw-on the lid and swirl the keg so that the cleaning solution makes contact with the entire interior of the keg, including the underside of the lid. Note that the ventilation notches under the lid may leak solution. Allow to sit for at least 2 minutes and swirl again.

    3. To clean the spigot, open it fully and allow the liquid to flow for 5 seconds and then close.

    4. Pour the rest of the solution from the keg into a large bowl. Place your spoon/whisk, can opener and measuring cup into the bowl to keep them cleaned throughout the brewing process. Leave them immersed for at least 2 minutes in cleaning solution prior to using.

    5. After all, surfaces have been thoroughly cleaned, do not rinse or dry the keg or utensils. Return lid to the top of the keg, proceed immediately to brewing.


    STEP 2: BREWING

    Brewing beer is the process of combining a starch source (in this case, a malt brewing extract) with yeast. Once combined, the yeast eats the sugars in the malt, producing alcohol and carbon dioxide (CO2). This process is called fermentation.

    1. Remove the yeast packet from under the lid of the can of Brewing Extract, then place the unopened can in hot tap water.

    2. Place the packet of pellet hops into the hop sack tying it closed, then trim away excess material

    3. Using the measuring cup, pour 4 cups of water into your clean 3-quart or larger pot. Bring the mixture to a boil and add in your 1 cup of honey and hop sack, then remove from heat.

    4. Open the can of Brewing Extract and pour the contents into the hot mixture in your pot. Stir until thoroughly mixed. This mixture of unfermented beer is called wort.

    5. Fill your fermenter with cold tap water to the mark 1 on the back. If using any other fermenter this would be approximately 1 gallon of water.

    6. Pour the wort into your fermenter, and then bring the volume of the fermenter to mark 2 by adding more cold water. (If you have a different fermenter top it off with cold water to the 8.5-liter mark).

    7. Stir your wort mixture vigorously with your sanitized spoon or whisk.

    8. Sprinkle the yeast packet into the keg, and screw on the lid. Do not stir.

    Put your fermenter in a location with a consistent temperature between 70° and 78° F (21°-25° C), and out of direct sunlight. Ferment for 14 days.


    STEP 3: Bottling & Carbonating

    After 14 days, taste a small sample to determine if the beer is fully fermented and ready to bottle. If it tastes like flat beer, it is ready. If it’s sweet, then it’s not ready. Let it ferment for 3 more days (17 total). At this point, it is time to bottle. Do not let it sit in the fermenter for longer than 24 days total.

    1. When your beer is ready to bottle, fill a 1-gallon container with warm water, then add the remaining ½ pack of the No-Rinse Cleanser and stir until dissolved. Once dissolved, it is ready to use.

    2. Distribute the cleaning solution equally among the bottles. Screw-on caps (or cover with a metal cap if using glass bottles) and shake bottles vigorously. Allow to sit 10 minutes, then shake the bottles again. Remove caps and empty all cleaning solution into a large bowl. Use this solution to clean any other equipment you may be used for bottling. Do not rinse.

    3. Add 2 Carbonation Drops to each 740-mL bottle. For 1-liter bottles, add 2 ½ drops; for ½-liter bottles add 1 drop. Alternatively, you can add table sugar using this table as a guide

    4. Holding the bottle at an angle, fill each bottle to about 2 inches from the bottle’s top.

    5. Place caps on bottles, hand tighten, and gently turn the bottle over to check the bottle’s seal. It is not necessary to shake them.

    6. Store the bottles upright and out of direct sunlight in a location with a consistent temperature between 70°-76°F or 21°-24°C. Allow sitting for a minimum of 14 days. If the temperature is cooler than suggested it may take an additional week to reach full carbonation. 


    Tip from our Brewmasters

    After the primary carbonation has taken place your beer is ready to drink. We recommend putting 1 bottle in the refrigerator at first for 48 hrs. After 48hrs. give it a try and if it is up to your liking put the rest of your beer in the fridge. If it does not taste quite right, leave the bottles out at room temp for another week or so. Keep following this method until your brew tastes just how you like it. 

    This process is called conditioning and during this time the yeast left in your beer can help clean up any off-flavors. Almost everything gets a little better with time and so will your beer.

    Rated 5 out of 5 by Turkey brew master from Big fun great reward Got a brew kit for Christmas awsome present very addicting obsession love it beer recipe was super easy and fun bottling was a breeze I made great beer thank u so much mr beer!!!
    Date published: 2016-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Derf from One of my best recipes I don't understand how people change the recipes and then give it a bad review. I love this beer and I use it all of the time
    Date published: 2017-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by fugnuts from Great Taste This was my first Recipe that I brewed after a couple of basic refills. I picked it based on it's description, and thought it sounded good. It completely met my expectations. Just the right amount of hops and just a hint of the honey. Every bit as good as Commercial Beers. I'll be brewing this many times over
    Date published: 2015-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Tube in Netarts from This ale is kick BUTT I have made 3 Batch's of this fine beer. The first time went by the book, the the next 2 I added 1 cup extra of sugar and a extra 1-2 cup of honey. That boosts the ABV about 1.5 percent. and takes the hoppy bite away. working on my 4th brewing as of now, my friends say it is one of the best beer I have brewed.
    Date published: 2015-05-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Kevin Caffrey from Great Way to Spruce up the Classic American Light My third brew w/ Mr. Beer and followed the Mr. Beer recipe exactly. Standard 3 week fermentation time, 4 week conditioning, 3 days chilled. Very, very subtle hint of honey. Dry finish. Hoppy, but not overwhelmingly so. Head eventually reduced to a 1/4 inch. Some lacing on the glass. Good session beer.
    Date published: 2016-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Jgault1004 from One of our favorites Bought this one based on how cheap it was and was not disappointed at all. Such a great beer. And the ABV isn't too high so you can enjoy a couple at a time. Already bought 2 more refills. Will always want to have this one on hand. Highly recommend for anyone just starting out.
    Date published: 2020-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by RW Pirtle from Remarkable Brew I was a little leary about brewing this as it came with hops and I am not a hop head. However the addition of honey smoothed it to the point that even my wife who is a MBC lover found it some of the best so far. It looks like I'll be adding this to the normal stock!
    Date published: 2016-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Bigflaco from Slam dunk suds! This brew was definitely worth the wait. Slightly hoppy and a very pleasant thought of wildflower honey. Let this one condition a little longer and you won’t be disappointed! Paired it up with chipotle steak strips and andouille sausage! Woooo!
    Date published: 2018-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Cmeans66 from Pretty Good I was really excited for this beer, but the honey really came out in it more than I thought. Don't get me wrong, I like it, but its very bodied and couldn't drink more than 2 probably. Overall, very good.
    Date published: 2015-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Turkey brew master from Good fun beer Great tasting beer added a cup of sugar to get more abv and2 packets of hops 3 weeks in fermenter a month in bottles 3 days in fridge turned out amazing
    Date published: 2016-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by jdc6458 from Has become my favorite First time I bought this I really liked it but wanted to add some oomph to it. So I added a booster, a golden soft pack, and one and half cups of honey and now it ROCKS! I have made at least 8 different types of beers and everyone agrees this is the best. I thought the blonde ambition which for some reason is no longer sold but I buy the ingredients was the best but considering the price this has it beat. I fermented for two weeks and conditioned for four weeks.
    Date published: 2016-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by dump247 from Easy to use, but not my kind of beer The overall brewing process was very easy for a complete newbie, like me. I have been told the result tasted good, but this recipe did not produce a flavor that I liked. I will use a mrbeer product again, but with a different recipe. Also, somehow we ended up with 7 bottles instead of the expected number (12, I think?). It might be we missed something in the instructions.
    Date published: 2016-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by SGT Beer from The best reason for the Classic American Light After two lousy batches of Classic American Light, I decided never to get that particular HME again, but when a shipment got screwed up and I wound up with another can, I started looking at my options, I saw Honey, Liberty and a potentially offensive apellation and I was fascinated. Unfortunately, mrbeer was out of Liberty pellet hops at the time, so I had to wait about two months to actually make this recipe, but it was totally worth the wait. The expected hoppy bitterness manifested as a rich tangyness that I loved almost to the point of reconsidering hops. A friend had warned me that honey-rich beer recipes had a tendency not to foam up or retain any head whatsoever, but my batch did exactly the opposite, and even after I switched to 20 ounce glasses, I've had to wait a few minutes for the foam to settle to pour the last 3-6 ounces of every bottle. All in all, my only regret about this recipe was waiting to make it and not making more.
    Date published: 2016-10-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by prefsnider from Honey overload! Brewed as per recipe. Brewing process went well, first batch for my Fast Ferment 3 gallon vessel. Been bottle conditioning for over 10 weeks. Just now beginning to mellow out wrt excessive honey sweetness. I used orange blossom honey. Maybe I'm simply sensitive to honey flavors. I love honey.
    Date published: 2018-04-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by Scott M from just so-so brew I prefer the more robust recipes but had the ingredients and decided to try it. Light weight brew and taste, would probably be better on a hot day. My "average" rating is really just about the taste, as usual Mr. Beer made it easy with great ingredients.
    Date published: 2017-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by JimK from Granddad loved it. Niece Loved it. Nephew Loved it Everyone who tried this brew LOVED it. It seems as though Mr. Beer has hit the right mix with this one. One word of caution: Everyone had a fit of the vapors, gas, farts. It was actually funny. So, buyer beware . . . or buyer be gassy.
    Date published: 2016-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Anthembiker from Sample My first batch of this ale turned out very good. After 6 weeks of bottle conditioning I tried it, not so good. After 1 more week it was a prime example of a lite beer. I have 2 more batches to make. I’m sure I will enjoy each one.
    Date published: 2018-09-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Fizzy from Horse's "A" The "Title" won't let me use the name I have brewed this twice. I learned the first time that letting the brew condition is well worth the wait. Even a couple of months later it was improving. At some point you just can't wait any longer though!!! Really nice!
    Date published: 2016-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Iowabrewdad from Excellent drinkability I am about to bottle my second batch in a couple days. This has been well received by my friends and family. As others have done, I upped the honey. A great summer brew. Rich head and clear body.
    Date published: 2016-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Loopy from Loved it, girlfriend loved it ! My girlfriend likes light beers so I wanted to try a light beer with some flavor. This didn't disappoint. Nice hop flavor with the honey coming through. Will brew this for sure again!
    Date published: 2016-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by JOHNATG from LIGHT HONEY BLONDE MADE THIS ONE AS MY 7TH MR BEER BATCH. LIGHT SMOOTH CASCADE HOPS GIVE IT NICE FINISH. HINT OF HONEY IN THERE SOMEWHERE BUT NOT TOO NOTICABLE. GREAT BEER BANG FOR YOUR BUCK !!
    Date published: 2016-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Eric1963 from Good Ale! Seemed just a touch hoppy (could be my taste buds, your mileage may vary), but a very good brew to come home to after work. I'd definitely recommend and buy it again...........
    Date published: 2018-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Big Butt from Great beer!! I bought this with the FastFerment system. Greatest result I ever had and will brew more. The hops flavor had the honey combination was ideal. Great head and a smooth drink.
    Date published: 2018-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Mays from Intersting name The name does not do justice to this one. I got it for the name. Then got in several times later because of the taste. Awesome beer.
    Date published: 2016-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by glenn29 from fan favorite made this one several times and it's always a hit with my friends and family. one of my most requested recipes
    Date published: 2017-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Jeremy shaft from Nice refreshing beer I really enjoyed this one. I also added a lil orange peel that made to a prefect beer for summer.
    Date published: 2017-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by hunkyleigh from Horse's AssAle We used our friend's bee hive honey for this and they were very impressed with the result.
    Date published: 2016-03-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by mightyoak from tastes like the name not impressed by this ale. its much too strong and the honey was completely lost
    Date published: 2016-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by quikdrw63 from good stuff great recipe. I added a DME pack to up the alcohol. Will definitely make again.
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Butch28 from Wonderful flavor This is a great brew on a hot summer day. You have to try it. Its wonderful
    Date published: 2016-05-01
    • y_2020, m_10, d_20, h_16
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_40
    • loc_en_US, sid_90-15084-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_mrbeer
    • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
    • CLOUD, getReviews, 3.91ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT