Long Play IPA Complete Beer Making Kit

Long Play IPA Complete Beer Making Kit is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 465.
  • y_2020, m_12, d_3, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_114, tr_351
  • loc_en_US, sid_40-20974-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrbeer
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 79.07ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Free Shipping on All Beer Kits

  • Best beer Kit for Beginners - Our beer kits are designed for the first-time brewer in mind Step-by-step instructions, simple ingredients, and easy to use brewing equipment.
  • Only Takes 30 Minutes of Your Time to Brew - Using our hopped Malt extract you can brew up a batch of beer in less than 30 minutes.
  • Includes the Best Ingredients to Get Started - Brewing with Mr. Beer’s Hopped Malt Extracts are perfect for any brewer. It cuts down on time, reduces the risk of contamination, and helps create a more consistent beer every time.
  • Comes with Everything You Need - Our beer Kit comes with everything you need to brew your first batch of beer. No need for additional large pots, strainers, or brewing equipment. All you need is a Mr. Beer Kit, water and common kitchen items to get started.
  • Satisfaction - Mr. Beer is all about simple, and efficient home brewing. If for any reason you are unhappy with your experience contact us so we can make it right for you.
Special Price $47.96 Regular Price $59.95
SKU
40-20974-00

Our Long Play IPA Complete Beer Making Kit comes with everything that is needed to get started brewing. This kit provides aspiring brewers with our patented brewing equipment and high-quality ingredients that simplify the Homebrewing process. Our patented brewing system includes a compact lightweight fermenter that is modeled after the design of professional brewing equipment Eleven 25oz reusable and shatterproof bottles that are specially designed for carbonating beer. We also include a can of brewing extract - a concentrated form of all-natural malted barley and hops - produced in a state-of-the-art facility by Australia's oldest family-owned brewery as well as no-rinse Cleanser and unique carbonation drops to simplify the sanitization and carbonation process. This kit is designed to brew 2-Gallons of great tasting beer. 


Brewing with Mr. Beer is a relatively simple process. Below is a short instructional overview of the brewing process so you can feel confident knowing you can brew this. 

Short Overview of the Brewing Process




Simple Brewing Process


With 16 different Refills and over 100 different Recipes, we have plenty of options available to keep the beer flowing. 


What you get


Where here to help with all your brewing needs. Just give us a call, chat with us, or submit a ticket. We have brewmasters on staff to help you with your brewing journey. 



STEP 1: Sanitizing

Cleaning is one of the most important steps in brewing. It kills microscopic bacteria, wild yeast, and molds that may cause off-flavors in your beer. Make certain to clean all equipment that comes in contact with your beer by following the directions below:

1. Fill clean keg with warm water to line mark 1 on the back, then add ½ pack (about 1 tablespoon) of No-Rinse Cleanser and stir until dissolved. Once dissolved, the solution is ready to use. Save the remaining ½ of No-Rinse Cleanser because you will need it for bottling.

2. Screw-on the lid and swirl the keg so that the cleaning solution makes contact with the entire interior of the keg, including the underside of the lid. Note that the ventilation notches under the lid may leak solution. Allow to sit for at least 2 minutes and swirl again.

3. To clean the spigot, open it fully and allow the liquid to flow for 5 seconds and then close.

4. Pour the rest of the solution from the keg into a large bowl. Place your spoon/whisk, can opener and measuring cup into the bowl to keep them cleaned throughout the brewing process. Leave them immersed for at least 2 minutes in cleaning solution prior to using.

5. After all, surfaces have been thoroughly cleaned, do not rinse or dry the keg or utensils. Return lid to the top of the keg, proceed immediately to brewing.


STEP 2: BREWING

Brewing beer is the process of combining a starch source (in this case, a malt brewing extract) with yeast. Once combined, the yeast eats the sugars in the malt, producing alcohol and carbon dioxide (CO2). This process is called fermentation.

1. Remove the yeast packet from under the lid of the can of brewing extract, then remove the label from the can. Place the unopened can in hot tap water

2. Using the clean measuring cup, pour 4 cups of water into your 4-quart or larger pot. Bring water to a boil, and then remove the pot from heat.

3. Open the can of brewing extract from the bottom of the can and pour it into the pot. Stir until thoroughly mixed. This mixture is the wort.

4. Fill the keg with cold water to line mark 1 on the back. The water must be cold (ideally from the refrigerator) with a temperature of 40-55°F/4-12°C. For the best results, we recommend using bottled spring water or filtered tap water. If using any other fermenter this would be approximately 1 gallon of water.

5. Pour the wort into the keg and then bring the volume of the keg up to line mark 2 by adding more cold water. Mix vigorously with the plastic spoon/ whisk. Be careful to not scratch the inside of the keg, which could create small spaces for bacteria to grow. (If you have a different fermenter top it off with cold water to the 8.5-liter mark).

6. Sprinkle the entire yeast packet into the keg and then screw on the lid. Do not stir.

7. Allow your fermenter to sit for 10-14 days.

Store the fermenter in a cool, dark place between 68-78°F/20-26°C for the yeast to work properly. The ideal temperature range is 70-72°F / 21-22°C. After a few days, the foam and activity will subside and your batch will appear to be dormant. However, the yeast is still at work, slowly finishing the fermentation process.


STEP 3: Bottling & Carbonating

After 10 days, taste a small sample to determine if the beer is fully fermented and ready to bottle. If it tastes like flat beer, it is ready. If it’s sweet, then it’s not ready. Let it ferment for 4 more days (14 total). At this point, it is time to bottle. Do not let it sit in the fermenter for longer than 24 days total.

1. When your beer is ready to bottle, fill a 1-gallon container with warm water, then add the remaining ½ pack of the No-Rinse Cleanser and stir until dissolved. Once dissolved, it is ready to use.

2. Distribute the cleaning solution equally among the bottles. Screw-on caps (or cover with a metal cap if using glass bottles) and shake bottles vigorously. Allow to sit 10 minutes, then shake the bottles again. Remove caps and empty all cleaning solution into a large bowl. Use this solution to clean any other equipment you may be used for bottling. Do not rinse.

3. Add 2 Carbonation Drops to each 740-mL bottle. For 1-liter bottles, add 2 ½ drops; for ½-liter bottles add 1 drop. Alternatively, you can add table sugar using this table as a guide

4. Holding the bottle at an angle, fill each bottle to about 2 inches from the bottle’s top.

5. Place caps on bottles, hand tighten, and gently turn the bottle over to check the bottle’s seal. It is not necessary to shake them.

6. Store the bottles upright and out of direct sunlight in a location with a consistent temperature between 70°-76°F or 21°-24°C. Allow sitting for a minimum of 14 days. If the temperature is cooler than suggested it may take an additional week to reach full carbonation. 


Tip from our Brewmasters

After the primary carbonation has taken place your beer is ready to drink. We recommend putting 1 bottle in the refrigerator at first for 48 hrs. After 48hrs. give it a try and if it is up to your liking put the rest of your beer in the fridge. If it does not taste quite right, leave the bottles out at room temp for another week or so. Keep following this method until your brew tastes just how you like it. 

This process is called conditioning and during this time the yeast left in your beer can help clean up any off-flavors. Almost everything gets a little better with time and so will your beer.

Rated 4 out of 5 by Mt50 from Solid IPA I knew this would be good when I tried a taste at the time of bottling. Tried my first after 2 1/2 weeks conditioning & was quite pleased, but waited another week to start drinking and it made a BIG difference. First one had a bitter "bite". A week later it still has a definite hoppy bitterness and flavor, but not so harsh a bite. Very enjoyable drink. Will brew again.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by jwalk74 from The kit worked great though my beer was gross I've had mine a couple years and I'm adding a review in the attempt to win a gift card (they said be honest). Both my batches weren't very good, but it was operator error both times. The 1st batch was over-carbonated (too much sugar) and the second was a foaming gross-tasting mess (improper sterilization). The kit worked great though. My only issue was that the drinkable (but burpy) 1st batch had a bit of a plastic-y aftertaste. That could be from the kit and plastic bottles or that's just how it tasted. I'm about to try another batch using glass growlers. Maybe that will eliminate the plastic taste. We'll see...
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cass_Kee from Wait I Brewed a Beer?! I was super skeptical as I opened my Mr beer kit. It really seemed like a far fetched idea that I could brew beer with a couple cleaning supplies, plastic bottles, liquid hops, etc. We mixed everything as the easy to use instructions in the box and online showed us. After a few weeks the beer started fermenting and before we did the carbonation step we tasted the beer. I will be honest it didn't taste like beer but we continued withe process. After that we let the beer settle for almost a month. The finally product ughhhmazzzzingggg! I couldn't believe it...our beer not only tasted like beer but like high quality micro brew beer!!! This was so much and I highly recommend everyone to give it a shot. What do you go to loose?! My only recommendations to the product are that they think about a making a little nicer barrel but I guess thats what the high end version is for.
Date published: 2016-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by jrempel68 from Very Easy! I received the Mr Beer kit for Christmas, and I love it! It was so easy to use, and the beer smells great! I will be bottling it in a few day. I'm very excited to taste the new brew! First time brewer.
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lukeworkman from Great experience I ordered two kits and two refills. One for me and one for my father and we can't wait to start on our own beer. Overall great shipping time and everything showed up packaged nicely. Haven't gotten to make any beer yet but I look forward to trying the many options they have for flavors.
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stroomer420 from long play IPA I brewed this straight up,,,, and must say this is a very good smooth beer,,I will definitely brew this again....
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rocky62801 from Easy To Use My girlfriend bought me this kit for Christmas. I finally tried started about a month ago (after it sat in the box since Christmas). The instructions were very easy to follow step by step (never used the dvd). The product was easy to assemble and brewing was very simple (no hops or nothing extra to add). I started with a Canadian Blonde brew. So far it seems to be turning out well.... brewing stage complete; now just waiting about 2 more weeks for the carbonization process. It is worth it to be able to make your own brew in about 6 weeks. For a first time starter kit I would recommend this to anyone!
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Brit from Simple with great results even for a beginner. I bought this kit about 6 weeks ago. I am from England where home brewing is very popular. I have been brewing beer for over 20 years making it from scratch which can be very time consuming and sometimes not a hit! I came across this kit in a popular appliance store and thought that I would give it a shot! I was very impressed with the ease and speed that the wort came together. With easy to follow instructions it came together in less that an hour. In just 2 weeks it was ready for bottling. After another 2 weeks it was ready to be enjoyed and enjoyable it was, I have to give 10 out of 10 for flavour and a thick head that lasts to the last drop. Highly recommended to beginners as well as hardened brewers like myself. I am now on my second brew!
Date published: 2016-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by Icon73 from Great starter kit My daughters purchased this kit for me for Christmas. They have seen my appreciation for local craft beers and have been with me to beer tastings. This was a great way to get my proverbial feet wet in trying to brew my own beer. The kit had everything for a novice brewer to see if this is something they really wanted to do. Bottles, labels, sanitizing chemicals etc. instruction booklet helped a great deal with recommended links for video how to's. I would tell any curious about this kit to pull the trigger you will not be dissappointed.
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by BryBrewer from Great intro to brewing This is a great kit to get started with brewing and I recommend it for anyone into beer and DIY. Pros: price - I'm somewhat surprised by the quality and amount of beer I can brew at home for so little cost compared to buying a case. ease of use - you have to clean and have patience during brewing and conditioning, but otherwise the process is straightforward with easy to follow instructions. resulting beer is great - as I said above, the beer is top notch. Con: you need patience, which can be hard for the first beer . You also need bottles. This is a little disappointing if you aren't prepared for that reality. But on the good side, it allows you to choose your bottles!
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by AWelk from Great Intro to Brewing I got my kit for Christmas two Christmases ago and all of the equipment is still going strong. I've since ordered a half dozen different recipes to try. While we have enjoyed every one of them, I would suggest that the instructions suggest a longer time for the beer to sit in the bottles. If you wait the suggested amount of time, all of the beer flavors have a similar flavor note behind them (me and my wife call this the 'Mr. Beer' flavor). The longer you can let the beer sit in the bottle, the more pronounced the individual recipes' tastes become. My only regret? Not living in apartments with consistent temperatures for some of the time I've owned the kit, preventing me from making more beer!
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by No thank you from Product great, service not so great This kit was a gift and I really like brewing my own beer. I just used the last of the supplies and am ready to restock. Only problem is after I signed up I was promised some free gifts that never showed up, that was over three months ago. Of course they have excuses why but it's cool I'm not sweating them. My concern is if order supplies from Mr beer will I die of thirst waiting? I chose to go to a local place just to be sure I get what I want when I want it, it's a little more expensive but you get what you pay for.
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by Aaliyah from Best Christmas gift! I bought the Mr. Beer IPA brewing kit for my boyfriend for Christmas. He absolutely loved it! He is a beginner so it helped a lot How user friendly this brewing kit is. So simple, so easy, and super fun project to work on as a couple or alone. We can't wait to try the beer in a couple of weeks!! Would definitely recommend, and it's a super great gift for anyone that loves beer and loves projects!
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by DjGuy from Quite A Lot Of Fun I bought one of these for a friend, and received one from a relative, at Christmas last year. I watched the (provided) DVD several times prior to 'mixing it up’ which I recommend any first timer to do, and take some notes too. Use the (supplied) sanitizer as directed, maintain temperatures (find a good spot with a thermometer) to keep in the range mentioned and you shouldn’t fail at this. I’ve made 3 batches of really good tasting beer and want to get a little fancier on the next one. This is a good kit, and it won’t break the bank introducing you to making your own bubbly brew.
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by arch47 from So Easy To Use I was given this kit as a Christmas gift. I had attempted beer making years ago, investing a sum of money, and quite a bit of work (siphoning, air locks, bottle capping). The result was not very impressive, so I was not exactly thrilled with this gift. After opening and seeing how simple (instructions and video), I again became excited about brewing my own beer. Within a month ( I couldn't wait any longer) I had created a great tasting beautiful beer. I am now happily brewing the many different varieties Mr. Beer has to offer, and I thank him for this easy to use equipment.
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by grilldaddy from The best hobby ever I received this kit for my birthday, and I just love it. have already made the American Ale that came with it and wow was it a good beer, I would recommend this to anyone who likes beer, enjoys creating something really good and you will find a lot of new friends too. Mr Beer makes it easy to make quality beer at home for very little money.
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by mattiedogs from the beer facts I do enjoy my kit I have made several beers some good some not so good. i think it works pretty good for quick beer making. (not to involved) I did get Glass bottles and I use my kid probably four to 5 times a year
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by Flipadelphia from This stuff was awful Follow the directions to the letter (I've brewed several other beers just fine). This came out extremely amber in color and very malty. OG was around 1.05. Finished pretty low at a final gravity of 1.009. Making it close to the advertised 5.5%. Fermented at 67F. Bottled after 15 days (had to wait extra day for bottles to be delivered). Carbed for 14 days and condition for a week so far and the taste is not even close to that of an IPA. No bitterness what-so-ever. Just taste very malty with a sort of hint of fruitiness. I would not buy this again and will stick to the recipe kits from Northern Brewers that have always come out far superior to these here. I spent good money and time on this so I'll still just hold my nose and chug these things down.
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by Munz from Great customer service Received one of these kits for Christmas, when I opened it I was disapointed at first because there was a leak below the spigot. I sent an email to customer service who got back to me right away. I sent a picture of the spigot hole via email and they have sent me a neW keg via mail to replace my faulty one. I give 4 stars because the original keg was defected but I am extremely happy with the Mr. Beer company and customer service that even though I have not yet begun to brew, they still deserve 4 stars for customer satisfaction! Thanks Tim from Mr. Beer!
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by ted j from gmipa makes an excellent grapefruit mosaic ipa . go easy on the grapefruit use the peels mainly and some of the juice , a great summer beer!!!!!!!
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by Goodmane from Hands down the best way to start! It's easier than baking a cake out of the box and way more satisfying! The kit had every thing I needed and I've been brewing ever since.
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Homey from Easy as beer! Easy to follow instructions and all the supplies you'll need to make batch after batch. I'm able to sample the IPA in about 2 days!
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by MyakkaSOB from Smooth Good hop flavor and finish. Very smooth and good color. Will brew and experiment with this beer again.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by sexymelissa from so far so good I bought the kit last Nov. and had to wait for it to warm up lol because I keep my home to cold in the winter... I will be bottling in a week so I don't know yet how it's going to turn out but, so far it has been pretty easy and seems to be going well. One negative thing about it took me 4 tries to get the spigot seated proper. I put it on and filled it about half way with tap water to check for leaks and sure enough it was leaking... The washer was on the nut in the kit and silly me didn't check it turns out it was backwards lol and here I just thought I wasn't getting it tight enough...once I got that figured out everything else was a breeze! This is my first time brewing and I really have no idea what I'm doing :) so we'll see...I'm excited!!!
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mott from Great starting point/introduction to brewing I received this kit as a Christmas present and could not wait to dive in. That's the problem while the instructions are clear and concise they need to be updated to reflect the guidelines or suggested brewing timeline that the MrBeer community/forum puts forward to newbies like myself. I was also a little disappointed in final result of the classic American light recipe, maybe because it was such a different beer from what my Canadian taste buds where used to, maybe it was just first batch gitters showing through. Overall I am very happy with the kit and use all the equipment it came with in my ongoing brewing adventures. Though I believe a stick on thermometer should be part of the basic package. This is a great gateway to the world of MrBeer brewing.
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mikey141 from Excellent starter kit for first time brewers I received the starter kit as a Christmas gift. It provides the basics for brewing your own beer. What I really appreciated was how easy the instructions made the entire brewing process. The kit includes a booklet and a DVD. The DVD was excellent; it provided step-by-step instructions as well as suggestions for any problems encountered. I have brewed and bottled the beer and am now waiting for the finished product. I would highly recommend this for anyone who wants to try home brewing but without a huge investment in time and money.
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keith_K5WX from Very good - Very hoppy! First taste tonight and I'm very pleased with the Long Play IPA. Good taste. Very hoppy! This craft refill is better than the Diablo IPA in my opinion. The color is a rich copper color. (The Diablo IPA always came out very dark for me.) My OG was 1.050 and the FG was 1.011 making about 5.1% ABV. I'm not a big IPA fan but I really like this one.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tuff2011 from Perfect for beginners with a craft taste! I received this product as a gift after wanting to try one for quite some time. Upon opening the box I soon realized the craftsmanship put into a starter kit. Everything fit as stated and never once had troubles with leaks or breaking. The kit included an IPA extract which tastes amazing and the detailed instructions made the fermenting and bottling process a breeze. I will purchase refills in the future and have already recommended this product to my family and friends. Top notch product that seems like it will last a while.
Date published: 2016-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pistol Pete from LBK is awesome! I bought my kit 4 years ago and have enjoyed every one of the 16 "brews" I've made. Even ones I've experimented with by adding extra hops and or yeasts. What amazes me is that there so many choices that are offered by your company to choose from as far as taste and ease of use. I've even added an extra LBK and more bottles, and a bunch of accessories. BOY you can really get into brewing with ease and assistance with your online help. You are doing a super job!!! I am always looking forward to my next brew. Thanks. Pete Reed
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by bulldog126 from Feel like cheating, but I love it! I got this little guy from my brother in law about a year ago. I was brewing 1 gallon batches in a glass jug at the time and he thought I should try your kit out. This was the best blind date I've ever been set up on. Me and this little keg have been inseparable ever since. No siphoning, no messy airlocks, just easy pouring from the spout with all the sludge staying put. I love your extracts too- so neat and easy, it allows me to add my own special touches with no mess, just great beer. Thanks for being a great matchmaker!
Date published: 2016-01-07
  • y_2020, m_12, d_3, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_114, tr_351
  • loc_en_US, sid_40-20974-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrbeer
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3.49ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 50.59ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;
We found other products you might like!