Northwest Pale Ale Complete Craft Refill

Northwest Pale Ale Complete Craft Refill is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 64.
  • y_2021, m_9, d_20, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_23, tr_41
  • loc_en_US, sid_90-11976-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrbeer
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 55.92ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • Our Refills come with everything that is needed to brew your next batch of great tasting beer. 
  • All of our Refills are done brewing within 10-14 days and designed for brewing 2-gallon batches. 
  • Mr. Beer's brewing extract is formulated and produced by master brewers at Coopers Brewery in Australia using the highest quality and all-natural barley and hops. 
  • Every Mr. Beer Refill comes with Coopers proprietary brewing yeast that performs well in a wide range of temperatures. 
  • With this Refill, you will get our Northwest Pale Ale HME, 1 bag of Carbonation Drops, 1 packet of No-Rinse Cleanser, and 1 packet of brewing yeast
  • If you enjoy drinking Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, Boulevard Brewing Pale Ale, or Goose Island 312 Urban Pale Ale then this is the Refill for you!
$23.76 Regular Price $27.95
SKU
90-11976-00
Customize Northwest Pale Ale Complete Craft Refill

* Required Fields

Your Customization
Northwest Pale Ale Craft Refill
Northwest Pale Ale Complete Craft Refill

In stock

$23.76

Summary

    STEP 1: Sanitizing

    Cleaning is one of the most important steps in brewing. It kills microscopic bacteria, wild yeast and molds that may cause off-flavors in your beer. Make certain to clean all equipment that comes in contact with your beer by following the directions below:

    1. Fill clean keg with warm water to line mark 1 on the back, then add ½ pack (about 1 tablespoon) of No-Rinse Cleanser and stir until dissolved. Once dissolved, the solution is ready to use. Save the remaining ½ of No-Rinse Cleanser because you will need it for bottling.

    2. Screw on lid and swirl the keg so that the cleaning solution makes contact with the entire interior of the keg, including the underside of the lid. Note that the ventilation notches under the lid may leak solution. Allow to sit for at least 2 minutes and swirl again.

    3. To clean the spigot, open it fully and allow liquid to flow for 5 seconds and then close.

    4. Pour the rest of the solution from the keg into a large bowl. Place your spoon/whisk, can opener and measuring cup into the bowl to keep them cleaned throughout the brewing process. Leave them immersed for at least 2 minutes in cleaning solution prior to using.

    5. After all surfaces have been thoroughly cleaned, do not rinse or dry the keg or utensils. Return lid to top of keg, proceed immediately to brewing.


    STEP 2: BREWING

    Brewing beer is the process of combining a starch source (in this case, a malt brewing extract) with yeast. Once combined, the yeast eats the sugars in the malt, producing alcohol and carbon dioxide (CO2). This process is called fermentation.

    1. Remove the yeast packet from under the lid of the can of brewing extract, then remove the label from the can. Place the unopened can in hot tap water

    2. Using the clean measuring cup, pour 4 cups of water into your 4-quart or larger pot. Bring water to a boil, and then remove pot from heat.

    3. Open the can of brewing extract from the bottom of the can and pour it into the pot. Stir until thoroughly mixed. This mixture is the wort.

    4. Fill the keg with cold water to line mark 1 on the back. The water must be cold (ideally from the refrigerator) with a temperature of 40-55°F/4-12°C. For the best results, we recommend using bottled spring water or filtered tap water. If using any other fermenter this would be approximately 1 gallon of water.

    5. Pour the wort into the keg and then bring the volume of the keg up to line mark 2 by adding more cold water. Mix vigorously with the plastic spoon/ whisk. Be careful to not scratch the inside of the keg, which could create small spaces for bacteria to grow. (If you have a different fermenter top it off with cold water to the 8.5-liter mark).

    6. Sprinkle the entire yeast packet into the keg and then screw on the lid.Do not stir.

    7. Allow your fermenter to sit for 10-14 days.

    Store the fermenter in a cool, dark place between 68-78°F/20-26°C for the yeast to work properly. The ideal temperature range is 70-72°F / 21-22°C. After a few days the foam and activity will subside and your batch will appear to be dormant. However, the yeast is still at work, slowly finishing the fermentation process.


    STEP 3: Bottling & Carbonating

    After 10 days, taste a small sample to determine if the beer is fully fermented and ready to bottle. If it tastes like flat beer, it is ready. If it’s sweet, then it’s not ready. Let it ferment for 4 more days (14 total). At this point it is time to bottle. Do not let it sit in the fermenter for longer than 24 days total.

    1.When your beer is ready to bottle, fill a 1-gallon container with warm water, then add the remaining ½ pack of the No-Rinse Cleanser and stir until dissolved. Once dissolved, it is ready to use.

    2. Distribute the cleaning solution equally among the bottles. Screw on caps (or cover with metal cap if using glass bottles) and shake bottles vigorously. Allow to sit 10 minutes, then shake the bottles again. Remove caps and empty all cleaning solution into a large bowl. Use this solution to clean any other equipment you may be using for bottling. Do not rinse.

    3. Add 2 Carbonation Drops to each 740-mL bottle. For 1-liter bottles, add 2 ½ drops; for ½-liter bottles add 1 drop. Alternatively, you can add table sugar using this table as a guide

    4. Holding the bottle at an angle, fill each bottle to about 2 inches from the bottle’s top.

    5. Place caps on bottles, hand tighten, and gently turn the bottle over to check the bottle’s seal. It is not necessary to shake them.

    6. Store the bottles upright and out of direct sunlight in a location with a consistent temperature between 70°-76°F or 21°-24°C. Allow to sit for a minimum of 14 days. If the temperature is cooler than suggested it may take an additional week to reach full carbonation. 


    Tip from our Brewmasters

    After the primary carbonation has taken place your beer is ready to drink. We recommend putting 1 bottle in the refrigerator at first for 48 hrs. After 48hrs. give it a try and if it is up to your liking put the rest of your beer in the fridge. If it does not taste quite right, leave the bottles out at room temp for another week or so. Keep following this method until your brew tastes just how you like it. 

    This process is called conditioning and during this time the yeast left in your beer can help clean up any off flavors. Almost everything gets a little better with time and so will your beer.

    Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from Good flavor, consistent brew. Just started brewing with Mr Beer products this year. This refill is a go-to to restock the fridge. This is easy, very consistent and tastes as it should.
    Date published: 2020-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by kevinah64 from great beer then and now First brewed this back in November 2013. It was great then. Very easy to make. Just brewed again 28 January 2018, and tasted today (march 20th). Great taste and aroma. I usually do 3-3-3 (3 weeks fermenter, 3 weeks bottle, 3 weeks fridge) but this batch was only 2 weeks fermenter. one thing I do notice however with Mr Beer is they taste better in glass bottles than the plastic ones. I usually do 1 or 2 plastic bottles so I can do the "squeeze test". highly recommend this beer!!
    Date published: 2018-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Gary6R from Added Hops, Still Smooth Flavor This variety turned out okay for me. (My 12th batch of 2-gal. home-brewing. Getting more consistent now.) It was the first time I’d tried tweaking myself by adding some hops, Cascade this time. I believe it enhanced the flavor in the hoppy direction I was trying for. Not too bitter, still relatively mild, but seems to maintain a steady hops presence. Nice clear amber color, good foamy head and decent fizz. Balanced mild aroma. A personal grade, overall, ~B.
    Date published: 2017-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Grandpa from Nice beer This is a good light amber brew. The best recommendation I can give is this: My son who only drinks apple cider, asked at a recent celebration if he could try one of my brews. I handed him a Northwest Pale Ale that I had bottled about a month ago. He was impressed enough that he was recommending it to the rest of the family that was there. My impression is that it is a good example of a lighter amber brew. I have since started another batch.
    Date published: 2017-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Big Sarge from Outstanding craft refill! This was my very first craft refill brewed and I was pleasantly surprised how well-rounded of a beer it was! I don't traditionally opt for a hoppy style, but a 43 IBUs, I would almost lean towards this beer being closer to balanced than hoppy. If you are looking to expand you horizon a little bit, this is a great place to start.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Druck034 from Mr. Beer Brewed this beer with 8oz of 2-row,4oz of carapils, 4oz of munich, 4oz of honey malt, and 4oz of oats, 2 pale LME. 3oz of centennial hops. 6.5% abv. Tasty beer would have to say for my self. this is a 2.5 Gallon batch of beer. LBK is perfect for 2.5 gal batch. I would brew this recipe again.
    Date published: 2021-08-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Tom37 from Still in the fermenter It's almost done!! I have tasted it when I took a gravity reading and it is very good. I dry hopped it also. This weekend will be 3 weeks and the gravity reading is stable. Time to bottle. I am a new brewer with only about 10 gallons so far. This beer is the tastiest so far
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Davz13 from Tastes great! Pours darker than I expected; more amber-orange compared to the golden color I thought. Anyways, the color doesn't matter to me. What does matter - this tastes delicious. Some orange and honey tastes, and slight caramel. Great combo. Very smooth, too.
    Date published: 2016-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Codie from Great beer I got the NWPA as a gift. Since my wife really liked the “Cowgirl” brew, I thought I’d tinker: added a Booster, a half cup of sugar and about a half cup of honey. Came out GREAT, and tasted a little like the Cowgirl as well. I’ll use this again.
    Date published: 2021-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by JillyBean from NW Pale Ale Delicious beer, super easy to brew and bottle. Friemds have tasted and all agree. Added 1 LME to this brew (by accident) and it is wonderful. May try iy without the LME next time, but it was so good I may repeat.
    Date published: 2021-03-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by Anonymous from Uuugh! I was disappointed in this brew. It is neither pale nor ale, closer to an amber bock with less flavor. I have been satisfied with most other purchases but this one really let me down. I won't buy this one again.
    Date published: 2020-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Robert from One of my favorites After three good experiences in brewing Mr. Beer, I felt adventurous and tired this guy out. Awesome brew and I definitely plan on making it again, when I am done sample the rest of the Mr. Beer library.
    Date published: 2015-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by SgtPhil from Great tasting beer This is one of my favorite Mr Beer Ales. I prefer this beer as-is, but it does make a really good base for an IPA style ale. Just 10 minute boil (or less) or dry-hop your favorite aroma/flavor hops
    Date published: 2016-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by JCGMS from Go to brew I’ve brewed this several times and never disappointed. The beer is very flavorful and easy to make. Sitting in the bottle for at least a month works great for a smooth, tasty beer.
    Date published: 2019-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by DaveLC from decent pale ale This had good color and head retention. It did not taste good after two weeks of conditioning in the bottle. When I tried it again a month later it tasted much better.
    Date published: 2016-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Troy C from North West pale ale on tap As good or better than any local brew pub I’ve tasted I drain it into a Corney keg and have it on tap in left side of my kegerator always on tap my guests love it
    Date published: 2021-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Amazing Beer Kit I love this beer. I enjoy making it. The steps are so easy to follow . Just take your time and follow directions and you will end up with some amazing beer.
    Date published: 2021-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by HoppySmile from great taste! will brew again! this was my second batch and I added a booster and a pale LME to add a bit more malt character to it. had a great taste and enjoyed the boost in the ABV.
    Date published: 2015-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Reece from Great stand alone refill This craft refill is amazing on its own. This will be one of my go to beers frequently in the future. Great taste and maybe even better after taste.
    Date published: 2020-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Dave N from Solid Pale Ale Easy to follow directions! Make sure that you sanitize all your equipment. I waited for 1 month to try this Pale Ale and it turned out excellent.
    Date published: 2021-03-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by smcclurg from Good results My third brew, after 4 weeks tasted just average, but after 8 weeks much better. Nice color, great carbonation, smooth drinking.
    Date published: 2016-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Turkey hunter from Amazing craft beer I got this on cyber monday as a gift from my wife. I t is amazing just like at a brewery ,the flavor is awsome thanks mr beer
    Date published: 2017-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Steveo from Northwest Pale Ale Easy to follow instructions. Tasty and full bodied brew. Identical to a pale ale off the shelf. Will brew again.
    Date published: 2021-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Doug from Great ale Nice smooth taste with a hoppy finish. A good west coast style pale ale with beautiful white head.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Barbeau from All you need Mr.Beer refills are great for simple brewers. Everything you need with one easy purchase
    Date published: 2020-07-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Rays from Good refreshing beer I started using Northwest Pale Ale over a year now, this included about 42 batches.
    Date published: 2018-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Dennis5519 from Easy to use Mr Beer makes brewing so easy. I can't wait for it to finish so I can try it.
    Date published: 2021-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by EasyOne from Great Taste This is a really good Pale Ale. Nice balanced taste. I will purchase again.
    Date published: 2020-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Hitchhikerken from Interesting features Brewed this in October. Has good flavor, but too much foam for some reason
    Date published: 2016-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by EK4001 from 2nd time My 2nd time brewing. It was very good. Would brew this one again!
    Date published: 2017-03-02
    • y_2021, m_9, d_20, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_23, tr_41
    • loc_en_US, sid_90-11976-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_mrbeer
    • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
    • CLOUD, getReviews, 6.25ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
    • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
    • CLOUD, getContent, 21.48ms
    • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
    • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;