Oktoberfest Lager Standard Refill

Oktoberfest Lager Standard Refill is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 173.
  • y_2021, m_6, d_22, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_66, tr_107
  • loc_en_US, sid_90-11964-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrbeer
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 51.59ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • Our Refills come with everything that is needed to brew your next batch of great tasting beer. 
  • All of our Refills are done brewing within 10-14 days and designed for brewing 2-gallon batches. 
  • Mr. Beer's brewing extract is formulated and produced by master brewers at Coopers Brewery in Australia using the highest quality and all-natural barley and hops. 
  • Every Mr. Beer Refill comes with Coopers proprietary brewing yeast that performs well in a wide range of temperatures. 
  • With this Refill, you will get our Oktoberfest Lager HME, 2 Bags of BrewMax Booster, 1 packet of No-Rinse Cleanser, and 1 packet of brewing yeast
  • If you enjoy drinking Spaten Oktoberfest, Left Hand Oktoberfest, or Yuengling Oktoberfest then this is the Refill for you!
$19.95
SKU
90-11964-00
Customize Oktoberfest Lager Standard Refill

* Required Fields

Your Customization
Oktoberfest Lager Standard Refill
Oktoberfest Lager Standard Refill

In stock

$19.95

Summary


    STEP 1: Sanitizing

    Cleaning is one of the most important steps in brewing. It kills microscopic bacteria, wild yeast and molds that may cause off-flavors in your beer. Make certain to clean all equipment that comes in contact with your beer by following the directions below:

    1. Fill clean keg with warm water to line mark 1 on the back, then add ½ pack (about 1 tablespoon) of No-Rinse Cleanser and stir until dissolved. Once dissolved, the solution is ready to use. Save the remaining ½ of No-Rinse Cleanser because you will need it for bottling.

    2. Screw on lid and swirl the keg so that the cleaning solution makes contact with the entire interior of the keg, including the underside of the lid. Note that the ventilation notches under the lid may leak solution. Allow to sit for at least 2 minutes and swirl again.

    3. To clean the spigot, open it fully and allow liquid to flow for 5 seconds and then close.

    4. Pour the rest of the solution from the keg into a large bowl. Place your spoon/whisk, can opener and measuring cup into the bowl to keep them cleaned throughout the brewing process. Leave them immersed for at least 2 minutes in cleaning solution prior to using.

    5. After all surfaces have been thoroughly cleaned, do not rinse or dry the keg or utensils. Return lid to top of keg, proceed immediately to brewing.


    STEP 2: BREWING

    Brewing beer is the process of combining a starch source (in this case, a malt brewing extract) with yeast. Once combined, the yeast eats the sugars in the malt, producing alcohol and carbon dioxide (CO2). This process is called fermentation.

    1. Remove the yeast packet from under the lid of the can of brewing extract, then remove the label from the can. Place the unopened can in hot tap water

    2. Using the clean measuring cup, pour 4 cups of water into your 4-quart or larger pot. Add your booster packs slowly while stirring the cool water until dissolved. Bring water to a boil, and then remove pot from heat.

    3. Open the can of brewing extract from the bottom of the can and pour it into the pot. Stir until thoroughly mixed. This mixture is the wort.

    4. Fill the keg with cold water to line mark 1 on the back. The water must be cold (ideally from the refrigerator) with a temperature of 40-55°F/4-12°C. For the best results, we recommend using bottled spring water or filtered tap water. If using any other fermenter this would be approximately 1 gallon of water.

    5. Pour the wort into the keg and then bring the volume of the keg up to line mark 2 by adding more cold water. Mix vigorously with the plastic spoon/ whisk. Be careful to not scratch the inside of the keg, which could create small spaces for bacteria to grow. (If you have a different fermenter top it off with cold water to the 8.5-liter mark).

    6. Sprinkle the entire yeast packet into the keg and then screw on the lid.Do not stir.

    7. Allow your fermenter to sit for 10-14 days.

    Store the fermenter in a cool, dark place between 68-78°F/20-26°C for the yeast to work properly. The ideal temperature range is 70-72°F / 21-22°C. After a few days the foam and activity will subside and your batch will appear to be dormant. However, the yeast is still at work, slowly finishing the fermentation process.


    STEP 3: Bottling & Carbonating

    After 10 days, taste a small sample to determine if the beer is fully fermented and ready to bottle. If it tastes like flat beer, it is ready. If it’s sweet, then it’s not ready. Let it ferment for 4 more days (14 total). At this point it is time to bottle. Do not let it sit in the fermenter for longer than 24 days total.

    1.When your beer is ready to bottle, fill a 1-gallon container with warm water, then add the remaining ½ pack of the No-Rinse Cleanser and stir until dissolved. Once dissolved, it is ready to use.

    2. Distribute the cleaning solution equally among the bottles. Screw on caps (or cover with metal cap if using glass bottles) and shake bottles vigorously. Allow to sit 10 minutes, then shake the bottles again. Remove caps and empty all cleaning solution into a large bowl. Use this solution to clean any other equipment you may be using for bottling. Do not rinse.

    3. Add 2 Carbonation Drops to each 740-mL bottle. For 1-liter bottles, add 2 ½ drops; for ½-liter bottles add 1 drop. Alternatively, you can add table sugar using this table as a guide

    4. Holding the bottle at an angle, fill each bottle to about 2 inches from the bottle’s top.

    5. Place caps on bottles, hand tighten, and gently turn the bottle over to check the bottle’s seal. It is not necessary to shake them.

    6. Store the bottles upright and out of direct sunlight in a location with a consistent temperature between 70°-76°F or 21°-24°C. Allow to sit for a minimum of 14 days. If the temperature is cooler than suggested it may take an additional week to reach full carbonation. 


    Tip from our Brewmasters

    After the primary carbonation has taken place your beer is ready to drink. We recommend putting 1 bottle in the refrigerator at first for 48 hrs. After 48hrs. give it a try and if it is up to your liking put the rest of your beer in the fridge. If it does not taste quite right, leave the bottles out at room temp for another week or so. Keep following this method until your brew tastes just how you like it. 

    This process is called conditioning and during this time the yeast left in your beer can help clean up any off flavors. Almost everything gets a little better with time and so will your beer.

    Rated 5 out of 5 by Dan J from 2 for 2 I finally got to taste this one(I have no patience when there are 11 bottles of beer conditioning in my closet). I had been recently drinking the Sam Adams Oktoberfest at local pubs. To my delight this was on par with that. It is really good. This is not my favorite kind of beer(it came with the kit that my daughter bought me so I had to brew it). But, darn it is good. My buddy and fellow beer lover liked it too. I have an IPA in the keg and can't wait for that one but for now I will be drinking my lager.
    Date published: 2018-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Briancr from Oktoberfest Home Brew This was my third attempt at brewing a Mr. Beer Kit. I tripled the batch and fermented it in a 6 gallon carbuoy. The flavor is Awesome!!! This is going to be my " House Beer " at all of my get togethers. Kit and instructions were simple to follow and a true enjoyment from beginning to end.
    Date published: 2018-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Starfeel from Great Extract So far, and I have been doing this since Jan 2018, this is my favorite extract. I wish that I could say that ALL my patches turned out perfect but, that simply is not the case. This extract is really good in the recipes MrB sells. Be sure to try them.
    Date published: 2020-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Jimo from Booster packets when to use one or two Still. After buying two refills, still not sure whether to use the 2 booster packets that come with the refill or not. Some one needs to clarify usage reason. Thx.
    Date published: 2021-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Chainz from Changed my mind Before I tried Oktoberfest, I really did not drink or carefore dark beers. My first batch of Oktoberfest, I did nothing extra, as in no booster, no brown sugar, just plain and simple. Loved it. Second batch did get some brown sugar with a booster pack. Oktoberfest definitely changed my mind about dark beers. My wife and friends love it also. This is going to be my standard house beer, to have on hand at all times, or try to have on hand at all times. Positively a big thumbs up!
    Date published: 2017-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Dave C P from One of our favorite beers! This smooth brown brew finishes with a touch of sweetness. Pairs well with food or all by itself! We'll be getting more!
    Date published: 2020-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Geocacher from Great taste. You won't want to wait till October until you try this one. Very smooth and they go well with cookouts.
    Date published: 2017-03-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by JWrong1914 from First time and super easy I was given this kit as a gift and thought it would be way harder to make my own beer than this. So I procrastinated for a while but gave in. It only took about 30 minutes to make everything up and put it in the keg. The only reason I did not rate 5 stars was my kit did not come with the booster! But the beer turned out great even without it just added some corn sugar. 3 weeks in the keg 3 weeks in the bottles then a final week in the fridge and man I was very happy!!!
    Date published: 2018-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Bob M38 from Oktobetfest Excellent, full bodied beer. Great flavor! My neighbors enjoyed this beer!
    Date published: 2021-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Ronald from Great Quarantine Beer If you are in lock-down a great beer to make until this ends.
    Date published: 2020-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by patsojc from One of the best batches yet! This makes the 8th batch of Mr. Beer Refills this year. First attempt at the Oktoberfest Lager. Bottle conditioned for 4 weeks. Flavor is the best of all 8 batches this year. Still have some conditioning to try at 6 weeks and 8 weeks. Very little head retention. Less than a minute and no head. Perfect carbonation. Not sure what's up with the head. Definitely making another batch of this next year! Can't wait to share it with friends!
    Date published: 2017-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by BH in NC from Great Lager I was blown away by this one. I’ve been reading up on brewing different beer styles and lagers are among the most complicated to make. Not this one. Just follow the simple directions and you’ll have a great beer in about 5 weeks. I let it ferment for 15 days and after two weeks of bottle conditioning it was near perfect. An extra week did the trick. I’ll definitely get this one again and may even boost it with an extra LME pack.
    Date published: 2020-10-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Falconmatt from 2nd Try This was the second refill I got as part of a gift. I usually like Oktoberfest /Marzen and this one was ok. Granted, I think I was so anxious to try it, I didn't let it mature enough. Having a few more batches under my belt, I'd say it tasted pretty green. But I don't want that to overshadow the fact that I think this is a solid brew when done right. I'll get it again for sure and give it the time it needs to be a quality brew.
    Date published: 2016-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Unbeerable from Very good, competes with the big dogs This is my first brew of the Octoberfest and I enjoyed it very much. I'm a big fan of the SA version and I don't think it is quite up to that level (could be the brewer too) but it was very good. I will give this one another shot. This was my second brew of the year (just got back into it). Three weeks i the LBK and two in the bottle before chilling. Taking 4 1L bottles to Thanksgiving dinner for additional feedback.
    Date published: 2017-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Mack from Review for Oktoberfest Lager Standard Refill This recipe became ready to drink a little while ago and tasted good when I tried some. The instructions for brewing were fairly easy to follow. I was was a little worried as the Brewmax Booster tended to clump up into a ball when I tried to mix this up into the wort. Fortunately it dissolved during the 3 plus weeks of fermentation and didn't effect the taste of the beer negatively in the end.
    Date published: 2018-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Btrahan23 from Oktoberfest Lager I purchased this last month for a quick round of Oktoberfest. I'm a all grain brewer and set that aside just because Mr. Beer has the best tasting Oktoberfest I have tried. Will defiantly be back for more!!
    Date published: 2017-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Andrey from Best among all others! I've tried almost all the refills from MrBeer trying to find which one I like the most. From second attempt of Octoberfest I decided to stop and keep going with it in the future. Buying 2 at a time for 2 fermenters but it is still not enough - it has the best taste, just let it condition for At Least 2 weeks in the fridge after fermentation. Looking forward to buying the next batch!
    Date published: 2017-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by RandyG from More than expected I absolutely love this beer, it's a very dark and delicious beer. If your thinking of old world or a beer that looks like it can warm you on a cold winters night with friends by the fire this is it. It's not a bitter beer so no worries as you enjoy this thick yet very palatable beer with small tight bubbly head that is just the center piece of any winter or other season get together!
    Date published: 2016-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Stretch from Marvelously Malts Bought this to craft a malty beer. Instead of hops, I put a sack of chai tea in during fermentation. A great holiday beer, or what I named Holiday Ch'eer.
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Eddien from Good flavor Second round of beer making. I prefer the darker beers and this one isn’t bad after four weeks. Two for fermentation, two for conditioning, and 48 hr refrigeration as a test as suggested. I believe it will benefit from further conditioning. Bottling it in smaller glass bottles, 12oz, will allow for taste sampling without to use up as much. Moving on to porters next.
    Date published: 2020-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by SteveC from Octoberfest Goodness Just cracked this open last weekend and was pleasantly surprised. It is a lighter octoberfest than I'm used to but it is still really good, and my wife likes it surprisingly. First time I've tried the booster packs as well so I was unsure how this batch would turn out. The booster packs clumped up on my in the wort, so I thought it wouldn't turn out, but it did.
    Date published: 2018-01-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Gabesdaddee from Hopeful I bought this refill from that big online retailer. The day it came time to taste before bottling, I was impressed. I bottled on Feb 4th, refrigerated for three days, and finally tried it on March 9th. It was just ok. I was really impressed by the head. It was huge! Hopefully this will improve with age.
    Date published: 2017-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by yankreb from An above average Oktoberfest! Only my second attempt at trying my hand at home brewing, and like my first attempt, using a Mr. Beer recipe, I was happy with the results. I would rate this Oktoberfest as at least a 4 (on a scale of 1-5) and likely a bit higher. Everyone that sampled it also said it was worthy of being in the 4-5 range
    Date published: 2018-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Loopy from Was good but....... This was a good brew but personally next time I will spend the extra couple dollars and get another recipe that is made with the Octoberfest. To me it was just missing something. It was good, but didn't impress like a lot of the other recipes did. Looking forward to trying a kicked up version of this.
    Date published: 2016-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by BrewCat from Second Home Brew This was my second batch of home brew and it came out better than the first one (which was American Porter). Maybe because I used distilled water this time, and spring water last time. Not sure, but the flavor is fairly good and I am hoping it will improve with more conditioning like the Porter did.
    Date published: 2018-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Anonymous from Good balance Think of this as midway between a craft Oktoberfest and a typical American lager. I like the batch size (I have an occasional beer, and about half of 5 gallons of wort always winds up old, and winds up down the sink). This is a good balance between lightness and flavor. I'd give it a B+.
    Date published: 2020-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Madsdad1 from Perfect for colder weather After a long haitus from brewing, I started with this brew. After 2 weeks in the bottle it wasn't all that perfect, but after another 2 weeks...holy macaroni!! I need to get another batch of this going soon. Perfect taste, color, and bitterness. Goes great with that pizza on a Friday night.
    Date published: 2016-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by HBDH from Oktoberfest Lager I just started this batch a few days ago and can't wait to try it. I made it once before and it is my favorite of the five or six different beers I've tried. The first time I added one third cup of brown sugar and it tasted great. A dark beer but not overpowering.
    Date published: 2017-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Zues from Smells great!! Can't wait to taste it!! This is my first beer that I had the pleasure to start off with. It's currently in the bottling stage after being fermented for 3 weeks. As I was bottling, the smell was just amazing. I am patiently waiting for 3 weeks go to by so I can finally taste my creation.
    Date published: 2017-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Tom from Syracuse from Great in October or any other month! The Oktoberfest deluxe refill made an awesome batch of beer that is one of my favorites. I am trying to decide between the Porter and the St. Patrick's Stout to see which one I prefer but I enjoy the variety. A seasonal rotation works. Keep up the good work! Tom
    Date published: 2016-03-23
    • y_2021, m_6, d_22, h_19
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_66, tr_107
    • loc_en_US, sid_90-11964-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_mrbeer
    • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
    • CLOUD, getReviews, 9.12ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
    • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
    • CLOUD, getContent, 21.69ms
    • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
    • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;
    We found other products you might like!