St. Patrick's Irish Stout Deluxe Refill

St. Patrick's Irish Stout Deluxe Refill is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 70.
  • y_2021, m_9, d_20, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_90-11965-03, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrbeer
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 79.38ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • Our Refills come with everything that is needed to brew your next batch of great tasting beer. 
  • All of our Refills are done brewing within 10-14 days and designed for brewing 2-gallon batches. 
  • Mr. Beer's brewing extract is formulated and produced by master brewers at Coopers Brewery in Australia using the highest quality and all-natural barley and hops. 
  • Every Mr. Beer Refill comes with Coopers proprietary brewing yeast that performs well in a wide range of temperatures. 
  • With this Refill, you will get our St. Patrick's Irish Stout HME, 2 Pouches of BrewMax LME Robust, 1 packet of No-Rinse Cleanser, and 1 packet of brewing yeast
  • If you enjoy drinking Guinness Stout, Murphy's Irish Stout, Smethwick's Irish Ale or Bell's Kalamazoo Stout then this is the Refill for you!
$23.76 Regular Price $27.95
SKU
90-11965-03
Customize St. Patrick's Irish Stout Deluxe Refill

* Required Fields

Your Customization
St. Patrick's Irish Stout Deluxe Refill
St. Patrick's Irish Stout Deluxe Refill

In stock

$23.76

Summary


    STEP 1: Sanitizing

    Cleaning is one of the most important steps in brewing. It kills microscopic bacteria, wild yeast and molds that may cause off-flavors in your beer. Make certain to clean all equipment that comes in contact with your beer by following the directions below:

    1. Fill clean keg with warm water to line mark 1 on the back, then add ½ pack (about 1 tablespoon) of No-Rinse Cleanser and stir until dissolved. Once dissolved, the solution is ready to use. Save the remaining ½ of No-Rinse Cleanser because you will need it for bottling.

    2. Screw on lid and swirl the keg so that the cleaning solution makes contact with the entire interior of the keg, including the underside of the lid. Note that the ventilation notches under the lid may leak solution. Allow to sit for at least 2 minutes and swirl again.

    3. To clean the spigot, open it fully and allow liquid to flow for 5 seconds and then close.

    4. Pour the rest of the solution from the keg into a large bowl. Place your spoon/whisk, can opener and measuring cup into the bowl to keep them cleaned throughout the brewing process. Leave them immersed for at least 2 minutes in cleaning solution prior to using.

    5. After all surfaces have been thoroughly cleaned, do not rinse or dry the keg or utensils. Return lid to top of keg, proceed immediately to brewing.


    STEP 2: BREWING

    Brewing beer is the process of combining a starch source (in this case, a malt brewing extract) with yeast. Once combined, the yeast eats the sugars in the malt, producing alcohol and carbon dioxide (CO2). This process is called fermentation.

    1. Remove the yeast packet from under the lid of the can of brewing extract, then remove the label from the can. Place the unopened can in hot tap water

    2. Using the clean measuring cup, pour 4 cups of water into your 4-quart or larger pot. Bring water to a boil, and then remove pot from heat.

    3. Open packet of BrewMax LME and the can of brewing extract and pour it into the pot. Stir until thoroughly mixed. This mixture is the wort.

    4. Fill the keg with cold water to line mark 1 on the back. The water must be cold (ideally from the refrigerator) with a temperature of 40-55°F/4-12°C. For the best results, we recommend using bottled spring water or filtered tap water. If using any other fermenter this would be approximately 1 gallon of water.

    5. Pour the wort into the keg and then bring the volume of the keg up to line mark 2 by adding more cold water. Mix vigorously with the plastic spoon/ whisk. Be careful to not scratch the inside of the keg, which could create small spaces for bacteria to grow. (If you have a different fermenter top it off with cold water to the 8.5-liter mark).

    6. Sprinkle the entire yeast packet into the keg and then screw on the lid.Do not stir.

    7. Allow your fermenter to sit for 10-14 days.

    Store the fermenter in a cool, dark place between 68-78°F/20-26°C for the yeast to work properly. The ideal temperature range is 70-72°F / 21-22°C. After a few days the foam and activity will subside and your batch will appear to be dormant. However, the yeast is still at work, slowly finishing the fermentation process.


    STEP 3: Bottling & Carbonating

    After 10 days, taste a small sample to determine if the beer is fully fermented and ready to bottle. If it tastes like flat beer, it is ready. If it’s sweet, then it’s not ready. Let it ferment for 4 more days (14 total). At this point it is time to bottle. Do not let it sit in the fermenter for longer than 24 days total.

    1.When your beer is ready to bottle, fill a 1-gallon container with warm water, then add the remaining ½ pack of the No-Rinse Cleanser and stir until dissolved. Once dissolved, it is ready to use.

    2. Distribute the cleaning solution equally among the bottles. Screw on caps (or cover with metal cap if using glass bottles) and shake bottles vigorously. Allow to sit 10 minutes, then shake the bottles again. Remove caps and empty all cleaning solution into a large bowl. Use this solution to clean any other equipment you may be using for bottling. Do not rinse.

    3. Add 2 Carbonation Drops to each 740-mL bottle. For 1-liter bottles, add 2 ½ drops; for ½-liter bottles add 1 drop. Alternatively, you can add table sugar using this table as a guide

    4. Holding the bottle at an angle, fill each bottle to about 2 inches from the bottle’s top.

    5. Place caps on bottles, hand tighten, and gently turn the bottle over to check the bottle’s seal. It is not necessary to shake them.

    6. Store the bottles upright and out of direct sunlight in a location with a consistent temperature between 70°-76°F or 21°-24°C. Allow to sit for a minimum of 14 days. If the temperature is cooler than suggested it may take an additional week to reach full carbonation. 


    Tip from our Brewmasters

    After the primary carbonation has taken place your beer is ready to drink. We recommend putting 1 bottle in the refrigerator at first for 48 hrs. After 48hrs. give it a try and if it is up to your liking put the rest of your beer in the fridge. If it does not taste quite right, leave the bottles out at room temp for another week or so. Keep following this method until your brew tastes just how you like it. 

    This process is called conditioning and during this time the yeast left in your beer can help clean up any off flavors. Almost everything gets a little better with time and so will your beer.

    Rated 5 out of 5 by Marv42 from I love stout I am a Guinness gay This stout is my favourite . This is so close to Guinness I have purchase it several times And I love the cost You will save money and easy to make. Give this 1A shot.
    Date published: 2021-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Randy J from St. Pat's Irish Stout Great brew! Shared some with my pastor and he loved it. Amen.
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Muscovy from Good one Nice dark beer good flavored, nice a easy to drink
    Date published: 2016-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by T Don from Mr Beer FTW Truth be told, I havent brewed this yet but is next up in my 'brew backlog' due to the amazing sales that Mr Beer puts on. Based on previous experiences with Mr Beer, this wil be a fun brew to create and enjoy. The service that Mr Beer provides is top notch and havent been let down yet. Follow the directions, experiment when you're ready and understand the brew methods.. and ENJOY!!
    Date published: 2020-07-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by Antonioramone from Taste is good but never converted much It could use more coffee and chocolate flavor. It never fully converted. It started at almost .07 but the FG showed it was only 2.9% ABV. Used bottling sugar and it performed well. I think I might try it again but if it won't convert I'll pitch some Wyeast. It came out more like a dry porter at cold temp, and an American brown or American black lager at room temp.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Dragonc1105 from Irish Stout Started my deluxe Irish Stout about a month ago in preparation for Saint Patrick's Day. Opened the first one last night and it was AWESOME! Great taste, perfect texture. Even my wife liked it! Yhank you Mr. BEER. This is going to be an awesome Paddy's day. Having guests over and they can't wait to try it. And I get to say...I made this!
    Date published: 2017-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by sandog from Really great! This is my third brew and so far has been the best I've made so far. Had tried the most basic brews and wanted better. Great flavor and body however the head was a bit weak. Made a beef stew with half a bottle and couldn't be happier. Felt like I was throwing away a very good beer by cooking with it but ended making the best stew ever.
    Date published: 2016-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Poppa from Best Beer I Made So Far! I have been brewing with MB since the late 90's. I have created several beers using this Deluxe refill. The last two have been awesome creations where I added lactose sugar and Cocoa. An incredible beer that will become a staple of my home brand!!! Great aromatic head and full flavor rivaling any Milk Stout I have purchased in stores!
    Date published: 2016-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Howard from Good Taste I purchased this as I am primarily a stout drinker. As always, the extract was easy to use and the taste was good. For the first time I used the Mr Beer priming drops instead of sugar and that may be the reason I didn't seem to be satisfied with the carbonation of this batch. I'll still try it again.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Howard from Good taste I purchased this as I am primarily a stout drinker. As always, the extract was easy to use and the taste was good. For the first time I used the Mr Beer priming drops instead of sugar and that may be the reason I didn't seem to be satisfied with the carbonation of this batch. I'll still try it again.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by FiveSaints53 from It's a good stout. This is a good stout. I've only made it once and I did it by the book so I'd have a point of reference. It was not as good as the Winter Ale Mr. Beer used to sell, but it is better than any store bought stout. Next time I think I'll add some molasses to give some extra punch.
    Date published: 2016-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Millen from Versatile Recipe Base I have used this beer for a lot of recipes. It is very versatile that way. I have made everything from a spicy stout to a chocolate strawberry stout (which was awesome) with this beer. It's also good without adding anything though I usually use a booster to up the ABV.
    Date published: 2017-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Best one yet This is the 3rd beer that I've made at home and by far it is the best. It has a rich, dark, roasty/chocolate flavor to it that makes it an excellent stout. I added 2 of the Robust Brew Max SoftPacks to it which bumped the ABV up above 7% So it packs a punch as well.
    Date published: 2021-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by greatsaxhero from First experiment I bought 2 refills one to brew normally and the other to experiment with(adding other soft packs and grains) to make my own custom brew. Both very easy to use and delicious. Sort of a different mouth feel than Guinness but could maybe tweak this with aging.
    Date published: 2016-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Swampgator from Tip My Cap I received this recipe as a gift and made it for St. Patrick's Day this year and I have to say it beats Guinness and even what I had in Ireland years ago. I stuck by the recipe with the exception of using raw honey for priming. I have requests to make more.
    Date published: 2016-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Jstin003 from Dark and Flavorful I bought a few of these during the St. Patrick's sale and I just sampled it after two weeks in the LBK and I can tell it's going to be really good. I am planning on adding espresso in half of the bottles to see what all the hype is about.
    Date published: 2016-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by MN Beer Rookie 16 from Bold & Beautiful Bold taste with a beautiful head on it. I brewed it for 4 weeks conditioned for 3 and it was AWESOME. This was my second batch and definately learned alot after taking th etime and reading the Mr Beer Forums!!!
    Date published: 2016-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Spotted Dog from A Big Hit Big season hit with friends. Make sure you use the Robust LME to get the best mouth-feel. I added coffee, dark chocolate and brown sugar. Glad I have the 6G kit this year so I have enough for me to drink a few!
    Date published: 2016-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Brian N from So dark, and so good! As good as any that you can buy! Very rich, malty yet not overly sweet and some hop bitterness for balance. Chocolate and raisin hints. Nice creamy brown head that persists and leaves legs down the glass.
    Date published: 2016-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Jameson from Great Stout Reminds me of the most popular brands Extra Stout which is one of my favorites! I let it ferment for 3 weeks not 2. I gathered from others adevice that this was key. Well, it worked great.
    Date published: 2016-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Kimber A from Irish with Buttershots, yummy!!! I started with the basic Irish St Pat's Stout. Then before bottling, I added a pint of ButterShots. After 2 weeks in the bottle, I tried the 1st one, yummy, just a hint of ButterShots.
    Date published: 2016-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by KM41 from Good Stout Used the chocolate orange stout recipe and was not disappointed. Let it ferment for three weeks, then three weeks in bottle, turned out great. Will make this again.
    Date published: 2016-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Mz Laurie and Red Neck from Ease of Brewing Our New Brew This will be our second batch of brew! Timing it to be ready for March 17th, Saint Patrick's Day. Hope it will be just as good as our first batch of American Lager.
    Date published: 2021-02-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by JayBee from Didn't Work for Me I'm not sure if I did something wrong, I know I had carbonation issues. It gets stellar reviews, so I'm tempted to think it was just a bad brew on my part.
    Date published: 2017-09-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Davz13 from Nice Irish stout! My first attempt at a Mr. Beer with a LME (robust). Pours black with nice brown head; great retention. Chocolate and cola; little coffee taste and aroma.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by jfleag61 from nice stout! Really like the darker brews, and my wife is turning to "the dark side" as well. I added brown sugar during the boil. Nice head, and smooooth!
    Date published: 2016-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by cisco138 from good stout Using the extra malt that comes with the deluxe refill, kicks this stout up a notch. Overall a very good stout.
    Date published: 2016-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Mike from Wonderful, Stout, great taste, good head and smooth I love Guinness but this is a much better beer in my opinion. Will definitely buy and make it again.
    Date published: 2015-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Michigan brewer from Great stout! This is a very versatile brew, I love it, add some vanilla or add some hops. The skies the limit!
    Date published: 2021-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Craig from Its Stout Maybe I should have pumped the brakes a little bit with the robust packs.
    Date published: 2021-03-26
    • y_2021, m_9, d_20, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_46
    • loc_en_US, sid_90-11965-03, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_mrbeer
    • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
    • CLOUD, getReviews, 5.59ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
    • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
    • CLOUD, getContent, 37.37ms
    • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
    • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;