St. Patrick's Irish Stout Standard Refill

St. Patrick's Irish Stout Standard Refill is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 111.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_84
  • loc_en_US, sid_90-11965-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrbeer
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 70.19ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • Our Refills come with everything that is needed to brew your next batch of great tasting beer. 
  • All of our Refills are done brewing within 10-14 days and designed for brewing 2-gallon batches. 
  • Mr. Beer's brewing extract is formulated and produced by master brewers at Coopers Brewery in Australia using the highest quality and all-natural barley and hops. 
  • Every Mr. Beer Refill comes with Coopers proprietary brewing yeast that performs well in a wide range of temperatures. 
  • With this Refill, you will get our St. Patrick's Irish Stout HME, 2 Bags of BrewMax Booster, 1 packet of No-Rinse Cleanser, and 1 packet of brewing yeast
  • If you enjoy drinking Guinness Stout, Murphy's Irish Stout, Smethwick's Irish Ale or Bell's Kalamazoo Stout then this is the Refill for you!
$19.95
SKU
90-11965-00
Customize St. Patrick's Irish Stout Standard Refill

* Required Fields

Your Customization
St Patrick's Irish Stout Standard Refill
St. Patrick's Irish Stout Standard Refill

In stock

$19.95

Summary


    STEP 1: Sanitizing

    Cleaning is one of the most important steps in brewing. It kills microscopic bacteria, wild yeast and molds that may cause off-flavors in your beer. Make certain to clean all equipment that comes in contact with your beer by following the directions below:

    1. Fill clean keg with warm water to line mark 1 on the back, then add ½ pack (about 1 tablespoon) of No-Rinse Cleanser and stir until dissolved. Once dissolved, the solution is ready to use. Save the remaining ½ of No-Rinse Cleanser because you will need it for bottling.

    2. Screw on lid and swirl the keg so that the cleaning solution makes contact with the entire interior of the keg, including the underside of the lid. Note that the ventilation notches under the lid may leak solution. Allow to sit for at least 2 minutes and swirl again.

    3. To clean the spigot, open it fully and allow liquid to flow for 5 seconds and then close.

    4. Pour the rest of the solution from the keg into a large bowl. Place your spoon/whisk, can opener and measuring cup into the bowl to keep them cleaned throughout the brewing process. Leave them immersed for at least 2 minutes in cleaning solution prior to using.

    5. After all surfaces have been thoroughly cleaned, do not rinse or dry the keg or utensils. Return lid to top of keg, proceed immediately to brewing.


    STEP 2: BREWING

    Brewing beer is the process of combining a starch source (in this case, a malt brewing extract) with yeast. Once combined, the yeast eats the sugars in the malt, producing alcohol and carbon dioxide (CO2). This process is called fermentation.

    1. Remove the yeast packet from under the lid of the can of brewing extract, then remove the label from the can. Place the unopened can in hot tap water

    2. Using the clean measuring cup, pour 4 cups of water into your 4-quart or larger pot. Add your booster packs slowly while stirring the cool water until dissolved. Bring water to a boil, and then remove pot from heat.

    3. Open the can of brewing extract from the bottom of the can and pour it into the pot. Stir until thoroughly mixed. This mixture is the wort.

    4. Fill the keg with cold water to line mark 1 on the back. The water must be cold (ideally from the refrigerator) with a temperature of 40-55°F/4-12°C. For the best results, we recommend using bottled spring water or filtered tap water. If using any other fermenter this would be approximately 1 gallon of water.

    5. Pour the wort into the keg and then bring the volume of the keg up to line mark 2 by adding more cold water. Mix vigorously with the plastic spoon/ whisk. Be careful to not scratch the inside of the keg, which could create small spaces for bacteria to grow. (If you have a different fermenter top it off with cold water to the 8.5-liter mark).

    6. Sprinkle the entire yeast packet into the keg and then screw on the lid.Do not stir.

    7. Allow your fermenter to sit for 10-14 days.

    Store the fermenter in a cool, dark place between 68-78°F/20-26°C for the yeast to work properly. The ideal temperature range is 70-72°F / 21-22°C. After a few days the foam and activity will subside and your batch will appear to be dormant. However, the yeast is still at work, slowly finishing the fermentation process.


    STEP 3: Bottling & Carbonating

    After 10 days, taste a small sample to determine if the beer is fully fermented and ready to bottle. If it tastes like flat beer, it is ready. If it’s sweet, then it’s not ready. Let it ferment for 4 more days (14 total). At this point it is time to bottle. Do not let it sit in the fermenter for longer than 24 days total.

    1.When your beer is ready to bottle, fill a 1-gallon container with warm water, then add the remaining ½ pack of the No-Rinse Cleanser and stir until dissolved. Once dissolved, it is ready to use.

    2. Distribute the cleaning solution equally among the bottles. Screw on caps (or cover with metal cap if using glass bottles) and shake bottles vigorously. Allow to sit 10 minutes, then shake the bottles again. Remove caps and empty all cleaning solution into a large bowl. Use this solution to clean any other equipment you may be using for bottling. Do not rinse.

    3. Add 2 Carbonation Drops to each 740-mL bottle. For 1-liter bottles, add 2 ½ drops; for ½-liter bottles add 1 drop. Alternatively, you can add table sugar using this table as a guide

    4. Holding the bottle at an angle, fill each bottle to about 2 inches from the bottle’s top.

    5. Place caps on bottles, hand tighten, and gently turn the bottle over to check the bottle’s seal. It is not necessary to shake them.

    6. Store the bottles upright and out of direct sunlight in a location with a consistent temperature between 70°-76°F or 21°-24°C. Allow to sit for a minimum of 14 days. If the temperature is cooler than suggested it may take an additional week to reach full carbonation. 


    Tip from our Brewmasters

    After the primary carbonation has taken place your beer is ready to drink. We recommend putting 1 bottle in the refrigerator at first for 48 hrs. After 48hrs. give it a try and if it is up to your liking put the rest of your beer in the fridge. If it does not taste quite right, leave the bottles out at room temp for another week or so. Keep following this method until your brew tastes just how you like it. 

    This process is called conditioning and during this time the yeast left in your beer can help clean up any off flavors. Almost everything gets a little better with time and so will your beer.

    Rated 5 out of 5 by David from Best stout My favorite! Even better than a store bought brew that starts with a G and cost way more. Makes for a perfect evening beverage.
    Date published: 2015-07-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by Gary6R from Worth a Try for St. Patrick's Day This was my third batch as a home-brew novice. I wanted to try this Irish dark variety in honor of one of my golfing buddies, in time for St. Patrick’s Day tasting. Working backwards on the calendar meant 3 weeks in the fermenting vat then 3 weeks in the bottles. We didn't notice a lot of flavor after the 3 weeks in bottles, though it seemed fuller after the 4th week. A bit nutty (perhaps) to my taste buds. I should say, though, that I haven’t had much experience with these darker varieties, and so hadn’t formed high expectations in advance. Several other users have suggested adding some coffee, and if I attempt this style again I may try that. Possibly one of the more-enhanced recipes, too. This one was okay, just not among my favorites.
    Date published: 2017-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Kindfish from Another really good brew from mr. Beer! This is a really tasty Stout that is really easy to make. I have experimented all over the place with it, right for example, now I have the Irish Stout with oak bottle conditioning. I've tried it with all different types of hop additions, fun stuff. Of course this recipe can always be improved with some booster and robust LME. REALLY GOOD STUFF.
    Date published: 2020-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by GL1976 from Great for a first try I got my Mr. Beer kit for Christmas and tried to brew the stout first. I tried it over the past weekend after letting it ferment for 3 1/2 weeks and another 1 1/2 weeks in the bottle. I am very impressed on the flavor. I can compare it to other big name stouts. Looking forward to trying others
    Date published: 2016-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Steeler_Fan from My new favorite beer This is my new favorite beer. I've had four bottles so far, and it keeps getting better. I had one of these, and 2 hours later was given a Guinness, and I have to say, I actually like this much better! There seems to be a richer taste in this beer. This was the third beer I've made (others were from another company's kits). I would have liked to have received the grains to boil down the wart myself, but, this was so easy to do. I'll be ordering a second batch of this wart and making another batch soon!
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Anonymous from Stand out beer. I'm new at brewing beer. I love dark beers and very hoppy beers - lots of flavor. I am on my second batch of Mr Beer Irish Stout. I've got to say, this Irish Stout is delicious. Both batches came out fantastic. I would compare it to a Guinness Infused Stout. Not quite as creamy, but more flavor. Compared to the Mr Beer Irish Stout I would say that the Guinness now tastes a bit watery and a bit less flavor compared to the Mr Beer Irish Stout. Great with wild game and grilled veggies. Great Job!
    Date published: 2020-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Big Sarge from Rich flavor! Originally not a fan of dark beers, I must admit that this one has me converted to the 'dark side'. The addition of cold brew coffee makes for an excellent coffee stout with deep aromas and rich smoothness. I have yet to find someone who hasn't fallen in love with it!
    Date published: 2016-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by masmor70 from Perfect Stout If I could only buy one beer, this would be it. Mix in a glass with the "American Light" for a great Black & Tan. Let it ferment for three weeks. Excellent example of high krausen.
    Date published: 2016-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by BillBest from Tastes Great! I bought this a little while back and added some powdered milk to it for a very tasty Irish Milk Stout! I'll be using it again sometime soon too!
    Date published: 2017-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Mt50 from Outstanding This was my 4th batch and by far the best. This is an outstanding stout. As good as any and better than many. Immediately ordered more.
    Date published: 2016-04-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Stormin Norman from Returning to the stout with a wake-up call! Recently retired, I just returned from New Orleans and a day @ the Jazz Fest. My friend there had asked me what my hobby was and I told him Home Brewing! It was in New Orleans years ago that I discovered Guiness stout and mixed it up with Dixie beer to make a black and tan! Now I'm mixing the St. Pat's with coffee(Café Du Monde, of course) as Jeff here suggested,,,I can test it while conditioning in the fridge and add the coffee incrementally...so far, so fine...
    Date published: 2016-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Matt Brown from Great taste Bought this as a perfect festive beer! Can't wait to make it again!
    Date published: 2017-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Nickfixit from Used it for Lucky Charms Milk Stout Just a personal preference but I find the Base stout a little bitter for my taste but when made into this milk stout it is delicious. This was a collaboration clone recipe - Mr Beer and Black Bottle Brewery. RECIPE INCLUDES: 1 Can St. Patrick’s Irish Stout Brewing Extract HME 1 Packet Safale US-04 Dry Yeast 2 BrewMax LME Softpack - Smooth 4 oz. Lactose Sugar 2 1/2 oz. Packet Northern Brewer Pellet Hops 3 Muslin Hop Sacks 2 Packets No-Rinse Cleanser YOU PROVIDE: 1 cup Lucky Charms™ Cereal (or generic equivalent Process (modified standard Mr Beer) : Dissolve LME in 4 cups water, add 1/2 oz hops, simmer 20 min, add 2nd 1/2 oz hops simmer 10 min, add/dissolve lactose, add/dissolve HME, add to water in fermenter. Top up and add yeast. Ferment one week, then add cereal in hopbag into fermenter and let ferment another 2 weeks then bottle.
    Date published: 2016-03-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by Ctfjustice from Irish Stout I purchased this with excitement as I do love a good stout. Now after following the directions and yes starilizing everything touching that wondrous wort, it came out rather dull to my surprise... I read the reviews good and bad but decided it would be better test it meself. I love the idea behind Mr Beer and will continue to try as this was my second attempt at homebrewing this Stout was my first attempt using the Mr Beer LBK. Cheers!
    Date published: 2018-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by BrewCat from Very Tasty Stout This was my 3rd brew with MrBeer and by far my best. I used the carbonation drops, and added 1/4 cup of molasses as I like that taste. Just had my 1st mug after 3 week fermentation, 1 week bottle conditioning and 2 day chilldown and it's certainly my most successful brew yet. I believe it will improve over time, but next time I'm going to use a packet of Unhopped Malt extract in place of the booster for better mouthfeel. Cheers !
    Date published: 2018-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Brian082192 from First time My first ever attempt at home brewing. Very easy to make! I didn't stray from the recipe being that this is my first time ever but once I learn more I'd love to tweak the recipe. Only recommendation is to let it condition. Had a bottle right after the carbonation period and it had a weird sour note but the older bottles rate A LOT better.
    Date published: 2017-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Missouri Mom from Best Refill and Base for other Recipes This is my absolute favorite refill and my go to for other recipe bases. Seriously, I know that if the recipe calls for this, we're going to love it. Rich, dark flavor. I don't like drinking any beer from the store (don't judge). But this one.. my husband opens a bottle and I grab it before he can take the first drink.
    Date published: 2020-01-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by Ray H from BLK Too Small for some brews? Havent tried it yet its still fermenting but I followes directions exactly and checked on it in one week and it overflowed all over the place! Not sure why there are two booster packs for this one but it sure did make a big mess so be sure to set your BLK in a tray or tub because this brew REALLY foams up alot.
    Date published: 2020-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by slym2none from This makes a great base for a RIS! This was one of my earlier brews, where I took the stout HME and added extra DME, some steeped specialty grains, and a little more hops to make a fine Russian Imperial Stout. I added cold-brewed coffee at the end before bottling, and my friends could not get enough if it! I will be buying this again.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by coletrain from My Go-To Brew I've made this plain, and with alterations to the Ole Mole recipe (subtracting the pepper and adding Lactose for a chocolate milk stout) and it always comes out better tan anything else. I have a couple kits, so when it's time to get a refill, this one is a staple while I try something new
    Date published: 2016-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by wtaylor25 from Easy to brew! Great flavor! Great starter beer! I bought this back in November and brewed it right after Christmas. It is flavorful, rich, and something I truly enjoyed. It was very easy to do as a first brew beer, so you can understand the process. It worked out that I will probably have some around St. Patrick's Day as well. Cheers!
    Date published: 2017-03-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by MountainRoot from When at first you don't succeed... So, this was my second batch I've made. My first batch was the Long Play IPA that came with my kit and after following the instructions to the tee, that batch turned out awesome! This batch however, I was not as impressed with. I love stouts ordinarily and read some great reviews on this product so I was excited to give it a try. But after following the instructions and waiting through fermenting then conditioning, it ended up tasting like a bitter IPA and stout watered down had a baby. Now I very well could have made several mistakes along the way. One of which may have been buying the refill from Walmart and not from Mr. Beer directly. The refill I noticed did not come with booster packs whereas on here it claims to be included. At the time I didn't think it a big deal, but if that was where I went wrong, it turns out that is a big deal. I am bummed I didn't like it this time but eventually I will be willing to try it again! I like stouts too much not too. Cheers, and blessings on you and your brew!
    Date published: 2018-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by brewkrew14 from Dirty Monkey Beer I bought this refill along with some cacao nibs and a specific yeast recommended by a brewmaster at Mr Beer to try and give it a chocalate and banana flavor. I opened one early it had an excellent head and was very smooth but giving it more time to develop more flavor.
    Date published: 2017-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Steve69 from First time home brewer! The starter kit is a great way to start brewing your own beer at home! I’ve tried several brews and they were all easy to make and tasted amazing! The LBK has really held up to multiple batches! If you haven’t bought one of these kits, I highly recommend you should!
    Date published: 2020-11-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by Mfrymark from Kinda hoppy I was expecting more of the malty stout and ended up with kind of a sweet IPA. I love IPAs and other hoppy beers, so I enjoyed what I drank; but it was not exactly what I was expecting. Still delicious, but expect a sweetly bitter beer instead of the malty stout.
    Date published: 2018-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by MikeCNorthrup from Great beer! This was my first attempt at home brewing and I'm not disappointed. This is a great stout with nice flavor and a beautiful dark color. It lacks the heaviness and extra-creamy mouthfeel of a nitro stout, but it more than makes up for it with its excellent flavor.
    Date published: 2017-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Daniel Partridge from Great flavor! I've had this Brew before made by someone else and as long as the instructions are followed, which this one certainly was the flavor comes out absolutely incredible. Package arrived a couple days early which was nice to see and the customer service was spot-on
    Date published: 2020-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by SACVET from One of our all time favorites About as close as possible to Guinness Stout. I have brewed a lot of St. Patrick's and every time it was a winner. This is the first batch with 2 bags of booster so we are anxious to give it a try. Will be awhile, probably August before we brew it.
    Date published: 2020-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by jjolson73 from Not brewed yet I have not brewed yet, so the 5 stars are going off reviews I read and that I love a good stout. I am looking forward to making this cause I am planning on adding coffee to it to make a great coffee stout! Will update review after I taste it!
    Date published: 2016-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Chainz from First taste... not bad Second taste was ... pretty good. Before the glass was gone, I was thinking ,wow this is good stuff. Wife and friends all liked it, and I am the only one who would ever drink a dark beer. Now others are asking for another batch.
    Date published: 2017-12-19
    • y_2021, m_1, d_18, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_84
    • loc_en_US, sid_90-11965-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_mrbeer
    • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
    • CLOUD, getReviews, 3.36ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
    • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
    • CLOUD, getContent, 39.66ms
    • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
    • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;