That Voodoo That You Do Amber Ale

That Voodoo That You Do Amber Ale is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 68.
  • y_2020, m_10, d_21, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_90-15095-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_mrbeer
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 62.74ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

You'll feel enchanted after your first few sips of this delicious ale. Amber, yet a little hazy and malty; balanced, but with a twist of spice the wheat lends. Just the right notes all the way through... something truly magical is at work here.

 

$24.95
SKU
90-15095-00
Customize That Voodoo That You Do Amber Ale

* Required Fields

Your Customization
That Voodoo That You Do Glass
That Voodoo That You Do Amber Ale

In stock

$24.95

Summary

    What You Get

    1 Bewitched Amber Ale Brewing Extract (HME)

    1 Packet of Dry Brewing Yeast (Under the Lid of the Brewing Extract)

    1 Packet of BrewMax LME Golden

    1 Packet of No-Rinse Cleanser


    Your Provide

    1 Cup Brown Sugar


    For Fans Of

    New Belgium Fat Tire Amber Ale

    Bell's Amber Ale


    Brew Specs

    Flavor: Balanced

    Original Gravity: 1.070

    Final Gravity: 1.015

    ABV: 7.4%

    SRM: (Color): 19

    IBU: (Bitterness): 30

    Rated 4 out of 5 by Boochuckles from Good Flavor I let mine bottle condition for 2 weeks and then tried a couple bottles. It was way too malty for me at that time. I left it to condition for another 3 weeks (about 5 1-2 total) and tried it again. HOLY MOLY did the flavor change! It became so much better. It has a nice balanced flavor, a little bit of the malt with a nice sweet caramel flavor that is not too in your face. Overall I would say this was a pretty good brew. Bottle Condition it for at least a month and you should be happy. If you want to be drinking something in 3 weeks this Voodoo is not for you
    Date published: 2015-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by #1Hazelnut from Great recipe! I have been brewing with Mr. Beer for more than a year now, and this is one of my favorites! Listen to the other posts about the conditioning time, and you will not be disappointed. At two weeks I tried one and it was obvious that it needed more time. Three weeks later, and wow what a difference! Fantastic taste, nice balance, not too hoppy to overpower the slightly sweet malty flavors. I have not repeated a recipe yet, but now I am!!!
    Date published: 2015-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Kbang from One of my Favorite Beer hands down If you have not brewed this yet you are missing a great beer. This by far is one of the best beers brewed I have ever had, in fact best beer bought or brewed!. This beer gets better with age, Let it sit in your fridge for a few months and you will be amazed. Smooth, a little sweet and great aroma, everytime i open a bottle I am amazed at the flavor and complex taste. Do yourself a favor and make this one of the first ones you brew, it will give you the brew bug. One tip, use really good organic brown sugar, it does make a difference.
    Date published: 2017-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Jgault1004 from Excellent! Highly recommend. I brewed this at the beginning of the year. Fermented for 2 weeks. Popped one open after 2 weeks in bottles and it was ok but needed more time. Now at 5 weeks conditioning its safe to say that this is a great beer. Not too sweet. Not too strong. A good full bodied dark beer. I will be doing this one again.
    Date published: 2020-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by jlinn from Tastes Great I have done a few different brews now and they have all sat in my fridge not being drank. This time, I decided to go all out. I had been using the plastic bottles and I was not thrilled with how any of my brews were turning out. I did a lot of research on Mr Beer site as to the other brewers favorite beers and this one came up. I have purchased 2 more refill kits and will be starting the brew soon! I bought glass bottles and a bottling kit this time and everything turned out great. If you are PATIENT this beer will be great. You MUST let this ferment for 4 weeks followed by a 4-5 week bottle conditioning. Temperature and dark environment seem to be key. I put the fermenter in the back corner of our walk in pantry and found a nice wooden crate that a case of bottles will fit in. After fermenting, I used the bottle wand and filled my glass bottles. I bottled everything and put in the wooden crate for 5 weeks. I opened one at 3 and it was just ok. Very cidery tasting. After week 4 it was much smoother. Week 5 and it was perfect. I have moved to the fridge and my case is almost gone. My friends loved it. Highly recommend but can't stress enough to be patient and let this baby sit and condition for best results.
    Date published: 2017-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Man Cave Brewer from Voodoo does it! This brew will woo everyone. Smooth and sophisticated, enough alcohol to creep up and seduce you. My daughter works as the alcohol specialist for a large supermarket chain, certified in beer and wine tasting. She tasted this and was so impressed she wanted to know if this recipe was being produced by any major breweries that are marketing it under another name.
    Date published: 2016-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Ghostface72 from Magical Taste I had waited a little too long to try this recipe. I started the brewing process 4/4/2016. I wished had started earlier in March, which would have allowed my indulgence to linger a little longer. Anyhow, after the fermentation was completed, I bottled the whimsical magical potion as instructed. But, my curiosity got the best of me. Before the first 72hrs of refrigeration could be completed, I popped opened the bewitched brew, and begin to babble of it's mysteries and wonders to my friends. I've since learned of it powers and have yield to the duration of weeks it takes to allow perfection to manifest .......Oh, what a outstanding taste; clean and smooth with a hint sweetness. I opened a bottle and indulged myself in the fermentation of phantasm on Memorial Day with slow cooked baby back ribs......Oh, what a fantastic pair!
    Date published: 2016-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Newmooner from Excellent Brew This is definitely a beer I will be brewing again. I thought the characteristics of this beer changed slightly after opening. But in a good way. I thought I could taste a slight berry taste at first and after breathing for a bit I thought I could taste a hint of molasses or chocolate. Neither of the flavors were overpowering. I would recommend not using as much carb drops or sugar when bottling, due to it being a little to bubbly for my liking.
    Date published: 2016-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Alex46 from Great Brew This was my second batch of VOO DOO.. has a smooth taste with a kick! Great flavor with a very low bitterness. Be careful! The high level of alcohol in this beer will sneak up on you. The wait is the hardest part of this brew
    Date published: 2016-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by wesfriday from the best beer I have ever drank This beer is better than anything you can buy over the counter. From here on I will alway have a personal stock of the voodoo on hand. It has an awesome taste that quickly delivers a great happy buzz.
    Date published: 2015-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by cleanfreak62 from This recipe with a twist I have made this recipe as it is written here and it is really good. One of my favorites. I have done it with a twist and in my opinion it is a bit better. Instead of Golden LME I used 224 grams of Extra dark DME and I used a booster pack as well. It came in at OG of 1.076. I conditioned it for 2 months after bottling. Just 2 16 oz. bottles of this and you will be done for the evening. I am doing this again and again.
    Date published: 2016-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Brewguy 2019 from Voodoo is awesome! Made 2 batches of Voodoo so far, and it is hands-down my best beer! There is a reason a high majority of people here rate this 5 stars. This is one of Mr. Beer's best creations!
    Date published: 2019-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Zach from My absolute fave! This is absolutely one of my very favorite recipes that they make. This is a beer that you need to AGE before you drink it. The longer it sits the better it tastes. The instructions may say a month and you can drink it...this is correct but the alcohol notes will be extremely high. Let it sit in a secondary fermenter for at least 6 months and then try it...you won't regret the wait. Everyone that tries this recipe loves it.
    Date published: 2016-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by twalztoni from Wow! Now that's some great head! I tried this last fall in preparation for a golf weekend with the guys. Six guys, four days of golf. My batch didn't make it through the first day. This is a nice smooth tasting beer and it pours a great head. Be careful when pouring this beer. Pour it slowly into a tilted glass or the head can get out of control. Make sure you let it sit after bottling for at least six weeks, eight would be better, or more.
    Date published: 2016-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by DrinkingBeerSLC from Boozy good flavor I measure the alc. my self, and mine came out to 7.2%, so it's got some kick. Is a dark amber ale with malty flavor, just as the recipe describes. I bottle conditioned mine for 2 months before cracking one open and it's great! Lost 1 star due to the head on mine is very small (not sure who're fault). Thanks again Mr Beer.
    Date published: 2017-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by WisconsinBadger from My New Favorite Mr. Beer Kit I have to admit that I only let this condition for 4 weeks before the first taste (2 bottles). Wow! such smooth and full flavor. A really delicious brew. I know it's just going to get better and better as it conditions. I'm ordering another kit because I may not be able to resist drinking this batch!
    Date published: 2017-10-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by OKRedLeg31 from Patience is a Virtue I added a Mr. B booster packet and probably added the yeast a little early before the smack-pack fully expanded, giving it a long lag time before fermentation kicked in (about a week in the LBK). Left it in the LBK for a 4 weeks, insulated in a cooler to keep the temp below 54 deg F, executed a diacetyl rest (64 deg F x 1 week) then cold crashed and bottled at week 6. Lagered at 58-64 deg F for three more weeks and it continues to get better with time. Tettnanger hops come through nicely throughout.
    Date published: 2015-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Doppelbock Fan from It's one of the favorites now! Love this Beer, next to Defibrillator Doppelbock is my second favorite. easy to make. The longer you condition the greater the taste,refreshing and relaxing. WARNING!Don't over do it, you will feel it the morning after. LOL
    Date published: 2015-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Dark one from Awesome beer I bought this 2 months ago, let it ferment 3 weeks, let it bottle condition 3 weeks. So dam good, left the rest of the bottles for another 3 weeks just gets better. I will be making this again. Maybe 6 gallons next time
    Date published: 2017-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Phil from Great malty beer This is a great amber style beer. It's my personal favorite of non all grain recipes that I make. The addition of brown sugar to the recipe isn't required to make a great beer, but it doesn't hurt either.
    Date published: 2016-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by laxdogg26 from Awesome Beer This is the best recipe I have done in 13 batches. It's very smooth and has a great flavor, a well balanced amber recipe. I will definitely make this again, it was a huge hit with everyone who tried it.
    Date published: 2016-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Doug F from Best brew. Friend all love it This brew is amazing. Best flavors yet. Smooth and hearty. I can't get enough and my friends all ask each time they sample any of my brew if we have more Voodoo!!! Repeat at my place a lot.
    Date published: 2017-01-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by Dirk Diggler from Had to try it after 1 week in fridge. I give this 3 stars, due to I haven't given it the full time in the fridge. I must say it caught me off guard. Didn't really know what to think, yet I couldn't put it down. If this gets better after the recommend 3 weeks, WoW can't wait. I did have to re-read the profile on this and so far it's spot on. Will review again after the 3 weeks, I'm sure it will get 4 star's ( nothing is perfect in this world, except my wife.) ( Just in case she is reading this....) see ya in 2 more weeks.
    Date published: 2017-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorilla Grog from this beer casts a good spell Great beer!!!! Had three batches already, waiting on fourth. Brought to family party and it was well enjoyed by everyone, even my picky sister
    Date published: 2015-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by JimK from Add a couple of weeks for a great brew Add an extra week in the keg. Then after you bottle with the sugar, add another week for two weeks in the bottles before you refrigerate.
    Date published: 2016-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Lazyk0 from One of my favorites I have been growing this for over a year. One of my very best favorites and brew it almost every month. I keg it instead of bottling!
    Date published: 2018-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by brewkrew14 from Excellent Tasting beer Made these beer for something different than the norm and it came out great friends love it excellent head on it as well.
    Date published: 2017-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Denoid from Party smash hit After conditioning for about 5 1/2 weeks, I opened a bottle of the Voodoo last Wednesday to taste before my weekend guests arrived. I shared the first bottle with my wife and one of her friends who had stopped by. We all thought it was excellent, but I was still nervous about whether all bottles would be as good. Our weekend friends, 3 couples, arrived on Friday night, for our "beer tasting weekend", which involved sampling my home brewed beer and visiting some local micro breweries to taste their wares. We all opened a Voodoo on Friday night, and everyone was raving about how good it was. I had two growlers of some other beers from my favorite local brewery, which they also tried, but everyone was preferring the Voodoo to those two beers. On Saturday, we went to two other local breweries and did some tasting of several beers, and almost everyone said they preferred the Voodoo over what we were drinking. I guess the "Voodoo That You Do" was a home run! (Fortunately, I was able to stash away a few bottles for just my wife and I for some later tasting in the next few weeks until my next batch is ready). I'll definitely be coming back to the Voodoo recipe though.
    Date published: 2016-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by roger4456 from Good Taste That Packs a Wallop One of the best homebrews I've made. Let it condition a couple weeks longer and you get a smoother taste.
    Date published: 2017-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by rudy from Outstanding Recipe Have made numerous batches and this one never disappoints. My thoughts, the longer the aging the better.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    • y_2020, m_10, d_21, h_16
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_57
    • loc_en_US, sid_90-15095-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_mrbeer
    • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
    • CLOUD, getReviews, 92.14ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT